Politics & Dreams

Yesterday someone offered me up to 4000 KD for my vote.  Not really my VOTE cuz I wouldn’t be allowed to vote, but basically its “salim wistilim”, I would give them my Jinseya in return for 4000 KD, and they would hold my Jinseya until after the elections.

I must admit that when they first told me 4000 KD it was extremly appealing.  4000 KD would pay for most of my masters program ;p  Then I really thought about it, if I sell my vota for 4000 KD it would mean ga3da abee3 deerty ib 4000 KD!  We sit and rant about the probelms and issues at hand, if I sold my vote I will have NO RIGHT at all to complain about what is going on.  If I did that I would hate my self actually, it would go against everything that I preached to my friends (and actually believe in);p.  So I declined the 4000 KD (or UPTO 4000 KD).  Had I sold my vote, I think my mom would beat me with a stick, okay not beat me, but not talk to me for a while.

That was my moral lesson for the day ;)

—–

On another note, I had a really weird crazy dream last night, at one part of it, I had drugs on me and I was running away from the police.  I think I listen to too much rap music!

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tooomz
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 12:28:11

    What happens if they never return your jinsiya?

    Reply

  2. Chirp
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 12:44:03

    Tooomz – Je ne sais pas!! yimken u can get “badal faqid”

    Reply

  3. Linus
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 13:18:11

    You would be selling your self out! You made a good choice :)

    Reply

  4. amer
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 13:26:33

    Tomorrow you might run for public office, hold a high profile position, talk about issues related to Kuwait that you feel strongly about…

    …4000kd is a lot of money but dont forget you’ll be joining the ‘dark side’ and there will be proof that your vote was for sale – it might come back and haunt you in the future…

    Some have the attitude “screw them i might as well make money off this, because i am not gaining anything from the elections” but in the end its corruption and in Islam the briber and the bribed one are sinful — temptations come through in life to us, the test of character is whether we succumb to them or not

    Reply

  5. Enigma
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 14:02:35

    Haram money is never good..

    Reply

  6. Big Pearls
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 14:17:06

    ma yabon jenseti?:p kidding..I am glad u made the right choice..such ppl shouldn’t be allowed in ruling our country in any way.

    Reply

  7. G.E&B
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 14:17:35

    You could report it; you probably should too.

    Reply

  8. amer
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 14:27:34

    “You could report it; you probably should too.”

    Problem is she would get into trouble, such is the system now that you can literally have footage of a candidate bribing someone ON VIDEO and nothing would happen to the candidate.

    Reply

  9. eshda3wa
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 15:03:09

    i hope you report this

    a person like that in a position of power is not a good thing

    and good 4 u 4 declining!

    proud of u girl!

    Reply

  10. Moi
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 15:44:16

    You can always go get a “badal faqid” on elections day from the ministry (election day is saturday, so do it before that) then go vote with it.. and let the jinsiya rotten 3indihom :P

    Reply

  11. intlxpatr
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 17:01:46

    That is SO much money, so much temptation. I am so thankful you resisted. And I am delighted you blogged about it. You are braver than you think you are.

    Reply

  12. adorra
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 19:54:22

    4000kd would get me a nice down payment on my apartments rent. It would make me happy for several months :-p

    I wouldn’t even sell my cat for 4000kd though! 5000 maybe :-p

    Reply

  13. Cat
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 22:19:10

    mahi lel bee3 el kuwait (e’3neyat jadetty) :)

    law remeetooo kel kenooz el denya ta7ty ma re’9eit
    armi omy ro7i dami ele fe ’9elha rebait
    menho yer’9a ye5oon ar’9a w el amana w bre5ee9
    5alna nanshed kelma wa7da: mahe lel bee3 el kuwait

    Reply

  14. Jacqui
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 22:32:45

    Are you sure 4000 wouldn’t help you with your next trip? :P Hehehe just kidding!

    Reply

  15. zainoba
    Apr 16, 2008 @ 08:12:01

    I dont understand Politics; but what happens if you give up ur jinsiya and you dont get it back, doesnt it mean alot to you in Q8?

    What is a “badal faqid”?

    Reply

  16. Prophet
    Apr 16, 2008 @ 09:06:07

    You were so passionate about voting for certain candidates when we spoke about the elections the other other day. I’m glad you didn’t accept KD 4000 in exchange for your right to vote for the people you feel will make a positive change in this country.

    Now, with that said, I have a question for you:

    Would it be wrong (and why) if you accepted the KD 4000 if you didn’t give a monkey’s ass about the elections and didn’t plan to vote?

    As in, you felt that none of the candidates deserved your vote and there were no candidates you wanted to vote against (‘saqqa6′), and so you weren’t going to even bother voting.

    Is it wrong??

    Why?

    Reply

  17. N.
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 10:21:00

    Yeah this happens a lot and will keep happening. Good choice! I’m getting all excited about the elections, but I don’t have enough information now to make a decision! Still need more info..

    Reply

  18. Trackback: Kuwait Elections: Vote Buying « Here There and Everywhere
  19. Angelo
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 12:01:54

    With 4000KD, I would have bought all the items in my amazon wish list LOL.

    Quick question: Why you aren’t allowed to vote?

    Reply

  20. Anon
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 12:56:26

    Why don’t you tell us which candidate it was?

    Reply

  21. This Lady
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 14:40:33

    And WHY haven’t you reported this? You DO know that it is illegal don’t you??

    God, we need to get these bastards as far AWAY from the parliament as humanly possible.

    Reply

  22. Anon
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 07:27:59

    According to newspaper reports about the two candidates who have been caught, the votes were going for 500KD. So I’m curious… Were you really offered 4000KD, and if so, why is your vote so much more valuable than anyone else’s?

    Reply

  23. Chirp
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 15:29:45

    Anon – The person who offered to me told me the more Janasey she brings is the better the offer is/higher the payment is. I don’t know why its 4000 and not more or less maybe it would have been less if the person didn’t bring in enough ppl, I have heard people who offer 5000 and others who offer 1500.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

