Ba7ibik ya lebnaaan

If there is one city in the world that I fell in love with it is probably Beirut.  I absolutly love that city! Even though its crowded, crammed and dirty I love the vibe I get everytime I go there.  I love sitting at cafes and wasting time, their restaurants are amazing, and their nightlife is even more fabolous.
At times I regret being so stubborn and going to study in the US, I wish that I stayed in the Middle East and studied in Beirut, but then I wouldn’t have met some of the people I know now …. But seriously if you want to go skiing you can just go up the mountains to ski, if you want to swim you have the ba7ar.  I think I love it so much because I just visit it and not live in it, but even the people I know who studied there LOVE it, so I guess it is a loveable place. 
I’m reading a book called “Bliss Street” by Kris Kenway, and a paragraph in that book really REALLY depicted what beirut is really like, this is the paragraph ….

“And there was Beirut, looking back at him.
James brought his eyes down to street level and paused for a moment to take it all in.  Multi-colored mobile phones rining and chiming, a car-stopping Wonderbra poster, a yellow Hizbollah flag, a mosque, a church, two battered Mercedes 200s narrowly missing each other.  A female face surrounded by a headscarf above an ankle-length billowing coat walked past a cafe where the waiter was dressed in a tuxedo.  People walked slowly on the pavement no one was in a hurry.  The street was sprinkled with shops selling lingerie and perfume and jewellery; there was one called Happiness , another called We Buy Gold.   Signs in English, in French, in Arabic.  Hollywood Boulevard-style stars engraved with the word ‘Hamra’ were dotted along the uneven pavement.  On a corner stood a building peppered with bullet holes, a giant spone about to collapse at the feet of the million-dollar apartment complex next door.”

….Wat do you think?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yoshi
    Apr 04, 2007 @ 22:04:54

    بحبك يا لبنان يا وطني بحبك
    بشمالك بجنوبك بسهلك بحبك
    تسأل شو بني و شو اللي ما بني
    بحبك يا لبنان يا وطني
    عندك بدي إبقى و يغيبوا الغياب
    إتعذب و إشقى و يا محلا العذاب
    و إذا إنتا بتتركني يا أغلى الأحباب
    الدنيي بترجع كذبة و تاج الأرض تراب
    بفقرك بحبك و بعزك بحبك

    Reply

  2. Confashion
    Apr 09, 2007 @ 21:32:18

    One of my favourite restaurants in Beirut was B 0181, I’m not sure if it’s still open.. but it was a work of art in concept and in design. Its located at Karantina Area of beirut… check it out if u have the chance to go there..

    Reply

  3. boredq80
    Apr 18, 2007 @ 12:22:23

    Confashion – Is that the one where the roof opens up?

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Rtg no deposit

Leave a comment