Thank you for smoking

Is avenues supposed to be a non smoking mall? 
The other day a couple of my friends and I went to lunch at the Avenues.  I think it was right before we started eating that my friend took out his cigarettes and wanted to light up, so I asked him not to because there were people behind us still eating, and there are kids at the table, so its not right for him to smoke.  He told me that its not his fault but its the fault of the reastaurant for seating these kids in the smoking section.  So I told him that no one specified the section we are sitting in, and its just out of courtesy and respect not to smoke, and not only for the people at the other table I was asking not to smoke next to me.  Well he did not listen to me, and neither did my other friend.  My other friend said that its the parents fault for taking the kids out.  I told her that when she doesn’t smoke and people around her smoke she will understand how I felt (and how the other girl at the table also felt). 

After my first semester in the US, I came back to q8 during xmas break. The first thing I saw when I got off the plane was a guy standing under the nonsmoking sign at the airport and smoking (and right next to him was the smoking room).  I was shocked, I had completly forgotten that people smoked every where in q8.

What really REALLY pisses me off is when I’m walking at one of the malls and I see little kids smoking.  WHAT THE HECK! this kid is probably still not a teenager and he has a cigarette in his hands!

A lot of cities in the US have banned smoking indoors and England will enforce its smoking ban on July 1st.   I think kuwait should enforce non-smoking indoors, theres nothing worse then trying to eat or shop and getting smoke in your eyes and nose.  Smokers are the ones that should respect the rights of the non smokers not the other way around, and since they CHOSE to smoke, they should deal with everything that comes their way (other than the illnesses), such as having to go to specific areas to smoke.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Yoshi
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 06:24:30

    Awal shay never compair the states and england to kuwait … I7na 3indina nas ma tista7y … U want ppl not to smoke Indoors … Haa the F***ing smoke in hospitals …. Kuwait has to force a law that Make ppl pay money if they get caught smoking indoors… That will hit them below the belt

    Reply

  2. EniGma
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 07:34:47

    DEATH TO ALL SMOKERS!!

    Kuwait Airport is supposed to be a smoke free zone, but when the uniformed ppl there don’t respect the law, u think the normal people will?

    Reply

  3. Anonymous Coward
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 07:48:25

    In the 90s, Kuwait was one of the first countries in the world to enact a law passed by the parliament prohibiting smoking in public places.

    Of course, like all laws in Kuwait, none get enforced.

    Reply

  4. Я
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 08:10:59

    I’m a smoker myself. When a security guard comes to me asking me to put out my ciggie. I bluntly ask him, “Why the ashtrays? And why me when this guy (someone walking past) is smoking?”

    Like coward said, none of the laws get enforced. Which is a shame. They should impose fines and stricter regulations on smoking in public places.

    I don’t mind, I’ve been to the States too & I respect it. But here, if you’re a non-smoker & sit in the smoking section, it’s your problem if MY smoke is bothering you, not mine. 🙂

    Logical.

    Reply

  5. "GreY'
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 12:01:00

    Same in Marina Mall , There are no smoking signs every two meters and the funny quote on the dustbin/ashtray ” Please do not throw the cigarette buds on the floor the cochroaches are getting cancer” [ duh!] .. but ……… 😡

    Reply

  6. Dilly$
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 13:49:11

    Smokers are Jokers

    Reply

  7. eshda3wa
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 15:02:59

    AMEN TO THAT

    although itll be around 500 years till a smoke ban is carried out in kuwait, there still too busy trying to keep women indoors after sun set

    Reply

  8. Yoshi
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 17:12:03

    eshda3wa …… hehehehehe ee thats a very very funny law to stay indoors after 8 …… i still crack up every time i hear about it …….. ppl reached the moon and we’re going back in time …. nice

    Reply

  9. boredq80
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 20:04:58

    if ppl voted for normal MPs then this stupid rule wouldnt have been in place (the 8 PM rule)
    fa I put the majority of the blame on voters
    AND
    I have faith in SOME ppl of our generation (it sounds cheesy) bas i do, fa inshala we make a difference. Bas let these hard headed stubborn old men who are stuck in the past leave the parliament oo inshala il q8 itrid 3ala 3izha

    Reply

  10. Zahra
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 21:48:33

    Reply

Leave a Reply

