Excuse me, are you calling me fat?

I think the customer service in Kuwait is horrible, not EVERYWHERE, but in a lot of places that require good customer service.  I worked for 8 months in a place that relied heavily on customer service, but no matter how much we tried to emphasize that, it did not get through to the people who worked.  Why is that? Is it because they lack ambition or they hate their jobs?  Or what?

Anyways everyone had had their share of horrible customer service around the world, but I am specifically talk about Kuwait because well we all live here, day in and day out.

A couple of years ago I was shopping for a pair of jeans, so my first stop for jeans was Diesel in Marina Mall.  I tell the sales lady that I wanted a size 27 jeans, she looks me up and down and says “Nooo habibtiiiiiiiii you are not size 27” she looks at my thighs then taps them and says  “these are too big too fit into size 27, here you should try the unisex size 29”  I got so offended that I just walked out of the store with out trying anything on.

I dont think I was being irrational because that summer I had gone to the gym RELIGIOUSLY and I had dropped down almost 6 kilos, and for my height that makes a huge difference.  I am not saying I dont have thighs, but they are NOT HUGE.  I don’t have a skinny light pole body type, but I know for sure I am not over weight, or even chubby, I am not sure what to call myself actually.

So that incident was over and NOT forgotten, I went to BCBG in Al-Rayah last summer to buy some stuff that I needed.  I tell the lady to give me a size “0” (Zero), she looks at me and giggles then shes like “Size zero? I think you fit better in a two or a four”
She pissed me off! Who is she to tell me my size? Its not the first time I had shopped at that store so I think I would know my size.  So I tell her “No I want a size Zero”
I tried on the clothes and they fit perfectly, I think the lady was shocked, she needs to go get her eyes checked.

End of rant. Peace Out!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shosho
    Jul 14, 2007 @ 18:25:52

    You managed to fit in size “0”!!!! Mashallah 🙂

    But I don’t blame the sales-lady for suggesting a bigger size, no one wears that size except people who are starving themselves, and you must have seemed healthy-looking to her.

    Reply

  2. FT
    Jul 14, 2007 @ 18:45:25

    Again where r my cupcakes ?????????????????

    Reply

  3. Chirp
    Jul 14, 2007 @ 19:48:02

    Shosho – thank you 🙂

    FT – hehe no need to get angry 😛 when do you want them ;p

    Reply

  4. FT
    Jul 14, 2007 @ 20:31:56

    madree when r u gona bake fresh ones ????

    Reply

  5. 3baid
    Jul 15, 2007 @ 02:42:31

    There’s a “size zero”?! @_@ No wonder women strive to get thin :/
    In that case men should have sizes like, “General”, “Prince”, “Knight”, and “King” to support “bigger is better” 😛

    Reply

  6. Chirp
    Jul 15, 2007 @ 04:25:29

    3baid – there is a size double zero ba3ad ….

    size zero 3an size zero yafrig, ya3ni the size zero in BCBG or Old Navy in the states is more forgiving than Bebe or Abercrombie (where im not a size zero).
    and LOL your sizes for men are funny, wouldn’t everyone want to be “King” ;p

    Reply

  7. 3baid
    Jul 15, 2007 @ 10:30:40

    Exactly 😉

    Reply

  8. Trackback: When Size Matters at Kuwait-Style.com
  9. Trackback: Global Voices Online » Kuwait: Too Fat
  10. Haley Kaltz
    Dec 22, 2009 @ 14:38:19

    Interesting read. There is currently quite a lot of information around this subject around and about on the net and some are most defintely better than others. You have caught the detail here just right which makes for a refreshing change – thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

