Music & Memories

I’m sitting at work listening to my ipod.  I have the songs on shuffle.  Each song brings back amazing memories, most of them of the states.

I can close my eyes, imagine myself driving my car, the windows are down, the weather is gorgeous, music is pumping.  I inhale deeply, I can smell freshly mowed grass, the smell of trees, greenery, freshness.  At the lake, or chilling on the porch of a house, bbqing.  Kiddy pools just to put our feet in. 

Next.  Its autumn, the weather is not hot and not cold, just perfect.  The trees are all red, yellow, and pink.  Caramel apples, hayrides, halloweeen,  walking down frat row, the music pumping the partyers relishing the last days of beautiful weather on the porch.  Home coming parade, marching band and football games. 

Another song comes on, I can feel the cold, the feeling of the air as I inhale it, and the wind when it hits my face.  All bundled up looking like marshmallow, trying to walk quickly to class without falling. Christmassy feeling all over, christmas lights ,music.  Everywhere you look its white.  Hockey games,  hot chocolate and blizzards.  Winter Wonderland.  Gorgeous housefronts.  Santa Clause at the mall. 

You wake up one morning and you can see grass peaking from under the brown soil and what is left over of the snow.  The weather is playing with you, one day its gorgeous the next its freezing.  It doesn’t matter because you know summer is nearly there. Spring Jam, March Madness and basketball season. Spring break.  Restaurants/bars/clubs start opening up their patios, you start packing up your winter wear.  All of a sudden its green again. 

I miss my student life. 
I miss the U.S.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chikapappi
    Sep 06, 2007 @ 10:24:59

    you know what … you got me “seeing” ur memories too.. Great! I get attached to music too o relate too much to my daily life…

    Reply

  2. Wer3Y
    Sep 06, 2007 @ 10:39:42

    Student life is the best part in life, specially High-school ;)!

    Reply

  3. K.TheKuwaiti
    Sep 06, 2007 @ 11:10:32

    Reply

  4. N.
    Sep 06, 2007 @ 13:42:46

    takes a deep breath… *pause*… *exhale* lovely memories.

    Reply

  5. Jacqui
    Sep 06, 2007 @ 20:17:38

    You know I just remembered that we didn’t email much today at work :/ Odd

    Reply

  6. Zed
    Sep 09, 2007 @ 07:06:34

    you probably miss the freedom, the change, the diversity, not the actual USA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

