Music Makes MY World Go Round

I used to always say “I love all music except country” and I was adamnt that I hated country music even though I probably never heard it before in my life or heard a crappy song once.  When I moved to Minnesota most of my friends were small town white girls and guys, and most of them listened to mainly country music and a lot of the small restaurants or the bars played country music  between every other main stream pop/hip hop song.

Little by little country grew on me, when I got in the car with one of my room mates I used to request a specific country song, then I started downloading them and putting them on my ipod. 

I realized that country music is very similar to arabic music in lyrics, most of them talk about love.  Its also very soothing and quiet (in my opinion), I usually listen to country music when I need to chill a little, or at night when I’m driving home.

Heres a list of my favorite country songs (some are old and some are new)

1. Take Me Home Country Roads – John Denver (this is for you Tooomz ;p)
2. I’ve Got Friends in Low Places – Garth Brooks (Reminds me of Minnesota and my friend Jim)
3. Tonight I Wanna Cry – Keith Urban
4. Me and You Go Fishing in the Dark – Kenny Chesney (SO Minnesota)
5. Keg in the Closet – Kenny Chesney
6. This One’s for the Girls – Martina McBride
7.  Save a Horse Ride a Cowboy – Big and Rich
8. You’ll Think of Me – Keith Urban (total break up song)
9. Bless the Broken Road – Rascal Flatts (My all time favorite)
10. Like I Am- Rascal Flatts
11. My Wish – Rascal Flatts
12. What Hurts the Most – Rascal Flatts
13. I Feel Bad – Rascal Flatts
14. Something More – Sugarland
15. If You’re Reading This – Tim Mcgraw
16. Take Me There – Rascal Flatts
17. Don’t Blink – Kenny Chesney
18. Wasted – Carrie Underwood
19. Before He Cheats – Carrie Underwood
20. So Small – Carrie Underwood

As you can see I LOVE Rascal Flatts and Carrie Underwood is really good.  I remember watching her on American Idol 4, and getting goosebumps when she sang “Bless the Broken Road” by Rascal Flatts.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chikapappi
    Sep 25, 2007 @ 23:06:20

    I didn’t like country music till the Rascals o Carrie changed my mind – Great list 🙂

    Reply

  2. Purgatory
    Sep 25, 2007 @ 23:32:14

    no achy breaky heart!

    Reply

  3. eshda3wa
    Sep 26, 2007 @ 00:40:16

    i like ur list
    im pretty flexible with music
    and i definitly like SOME country every now and then

    Reply

  4. N.
    Sep 26, 2007 @ 06:40:33

    Thanks for the recommendations! I used to hate conutry too, I mean have you heard “Cotton eye Joe”? Come on, lol. I love country now, most of it, because it is so mellow. ^_^ I’ll be looking for those songs!

    Reply

  5. Blue Dress
    Sep 26, 2007 @ 07:43:29

    I LOVE EVERY THING regardless the genre,
    It’s all about ti3wid. ; P

    And there was one song by
    By tim that I really liked I only heard it once oo I don’t know
    Shino esem-ha….

    So what ghair hal
    song for him?

    Reply

  6. Prophet of Random
    Sep 26, 2007 @ 10:25:54

    You are no longer my friend. Country music? This is a sad sad day indeed.

    The only country music song (which doesn’t even qualify as country- its just redneck) that I used to like was “cotton-eye joe”. And that was way back when….

    I don’t mind if you like some country music songs. But to state that you like country music in general is blasphemy! I’m going to perform an exorcism on you! This isn’t you Chirp! Its the devil inside you saying these things! Begone devil! Begone! *sob*

    Reply

  7. Chirp
    Sep 26, 2007 @ 10:37:10

    Chika – Yeah me too Rascal Flatts changed my mind at first

    Purg – Oooh I forgot that, its a classic! hehehe

    eshda3wa – i’m glad you like my list

    N. – LOL I think cotton eyed joe was written by a non american band that has nothing 2 do with country. I’ll look it up. Hope you like the songs!

    Blue – Bilthab6 its all about ti3iwid. Madry i’ll check on my ipod and let you know :p

    Prophet – LOL i kno i know, my ghetto side will come out again.

    Reply

  8. Mrm
    Sep 26, 2007 @ 13:32:21

    leanne rimes o sisterhazel. the rest can marry their dogs, beat thei wives, and steal their neighbors washer/dryer at the trailer park.

    Reply

  9. intlxpatr
    Sep 26, 2007 @ 15:36:47

    No Dropkick me Jesus through the Goalposts of Life? No Stand by Your Man? No Walk a Line?

    Reply

  10. Dilly$
    Sep 26, 2007 @ 17:33:56

    What a country nerd! Friends in Low Places??? Nice.

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Music » Music Makes MY World Go Round
  12. Rashisha
    Oct 23, 2007 @ 20:45:38

    I Have always loved country music…anytime iwant to convince somone to listen to country i pull out rascall flatts , garth brooks, and Brad paisley…. check this out

    Reply

  13. wordpress.com
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 23:05:43

    Hi, I do think this is a great site. I stumbledupon
    it 😉 I may come back once again since I book marked it.

    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide others.

    Reply

  14. E væske nikotin
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 23:09:56

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after going through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m certainly pleased I discovered it and I’ll be
    book-marking it and checking back regularly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

