In situations like these….

For the longest time I hated going to big gatherings, weddings, and 3azayem with my mother.  I’m not really a “SHY” person, but when i’m around a big group of people I do not know I get very overwhelmed and tend to become overly shy.  Its really annoying considering my mother is completly the opposite, she’s got PR down to the last drop.  I tend to fare much better in smaller groups, and after meeting people 2 or 3 times I become a completly different person 😉

Not only did I hate going, I actually did not go, I always found an excuse to opt out of these obligations.  It wasn’t until recently that I started going out with my mother and meeting other people.  I’d go with her to istiqbalat when ppl give birth, embassy events, older ladies gatherings etc. and I realized that it wasn’t that boring, its actually fun and you get to know people (networking!). 

I also realized that its good to show people that you care, ya3ni itha ma wajabtaw il nas why would you expect them inhum iwajboonkum? 

Which brings me to my story, I was invited to a ghabga today, and I accepted the facebook invitation for it and I was actually really excited to go.  I woke up very cranky today, had a lot of work to do and I didn’t nap before fu6oor.  So when I got home after fu6oor at grandmas I was thinking of not going.  But I had already told her I was coming, and I really wanted to go.  So I got my self off the couch and I went, not only because I wanted to go bas I think its rude to ditch people for no reason, especially itha ya3ni they invited you u know what i mean?! I’m trying to convey a message but I dont think I’m being clear enough.

Anyways theres another person who has disappeared from ourlives, I have not seen that person in about 2 months now, and I used to see her on a daily basis. No matter what you invite her to do she will find an excuse out of it, and she did this time also.  I have made numerous plans with her that have never been done.  That is why if I ever have a party/gathering/special occaison with limited seating I probably won’t consider inviting her even though she was a friend. 

The question is, if you knew a person like that, maywajib, constantly ditching you, would you accept invitations from them?

***** On a completly different note, I’m writing this before I sleep.  During the ghabga we went outside a couple of times so the smokers in the group could smoke, and we ended up chilling (more like sweating) outside.  I had showered and just curled my hair before I left and now its a huge frizz ball.  I’m actually dreading going to work tomorrow because I have no idea what to do with my hair. (waking up early to wash it is not an option, my hair is not easy).

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chikapappi
    Oct 01, 2007 @ 23:19:17

    I hate going with my mom too… but sometimes she makes to show me off… women! go figure!!

    As for networking I think Facebook is the worst way ever… I lost track many friends too bas a7san…

    I love curly hair 🙂 wanna swap!

    Reply

  2. Nomad
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 00:38:41

    One of my friends stopped sending me sms messages about when he is hosting a gathering at his diwaniya because I used to not go many times. But now I do 😦

    Reply

  3. N.
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 07:28:02

    I wouldn’t hold a grudge against someone if they kept ditching, I’d still invite them (or try to) and would probably go to their gathering if they do make one and invite me. I expect to be treated the same, but if I end up not accepting invitations a lot there has to be a good reason. I also always try to patch things up you know, catch up etc.

    Even though, the truth is, I hate these formalities of catching up etc.. if we talk we talk, and if we don’t we don’t. Why has there to be an agenda, or a strategy, or a plan.. bleh;l

    Reply

  4. Tooomz
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 08:22:38

    I guess this is bad but I have a 3 time rule. If someone ditches me 3 times in a row that’s when I stop inviting them places.

    Reply

  5. eshda3wa
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 08:28:19

    i have a love/hate relationship with going to gatherings
    bs i do think its VERY important to wajeb people, moo 7elwa if u dont
    especially bel 3aza. i try to wajeb as much as possible

    and about ur friend, if it were me id try to play it cool, bs after a certain point, i wont bother sara7a!

    Reply

  6. Swair
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 08:43:10

    i like gatherings.. but when it’s going to people i don’t know it depends on my mood, so i get selfish about it… if i feel like getting dressed up, if i feel like applying make-up and showing off my good mood, aroo7.. otherwise, i’m a couch potato and refuse to leave my comfort zone… (it’s good that i’m in a good mood most of the time so i’ve collected enough “Wajeb” points :p I’m not ga63a but at the same time I’m not a complete gathering-slave)

    BUT if it’s someone i know and love (all my friends), then i go FOR that person, no matter what the mood cos i like these people and they’re bound to cheer me up whether i like it or not :p

    As for inviting people, i have the same rule as Tooomz, three times and you’re out..

    I’ll stop blabbing now lol

    Reply

  7. Prophet
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 10:23:04

    First of all, my hair is a fuzzball too…. but I don’t give a crap, so I’m at work with shitty hair. But a good solution or bad hair days at work are those wide headbands. They coverup and they are instyle too! Like oh my god, like, what has happened to me? Like, I’ve been reading way too many fashion mags and like watching way too many Clorox Valley girl shows. Like WTF OMG.

    Lool. Anyway, about the whole invitation thing. Obviously this person that ditches you feels that she has more important things to do than come to your events. If you still feel that you like this girl and she’d be a good addition to your gatherings and you don’t care that she doesn’t really care to spend time with you, then invite her (unless you feel the 50 fils per message is too much – which I personally would).

    And if she invites you someplace and you have nothing better to do and think it’ll be fun then you should go. If you have one thing even slightly more important (like detangling your cat’s fur) then fuck it, don’t go, you know that she wouldn’t go out of her way to see you so you needn’t either.

    Now there is an exception to these rules, such as if someone has died in their family, she’s sick….etc. If this girl has such tragedy in her life, you should give her a break and try to be there for her even if it takes her a year. But if she is going out and seeing other people then you know that she’d fine and she doesn’t deserve your sympathy or your effort.

    Just think to yourself Chirp WWLCD?

    (What Would LC Do?)

    Reply

  8. Chroma-Trauma
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 20:33:51

    I’m not a gathering person as well, but now I try my best o respond to every single invitation I recieve and I do go with my mom. I find it funny and enjoyable besides I’m my parent’s only daughter which means I can’t leve my mom go alone to any social gathering.. she only has me ^_^

    About that freind, she might have some problems that prevented her from seeing you but if she is a person that kept ditching after (let’s say ) 10 times, just don’t bother unless she has some good excuses .. Real good ones. About her invitations! Why not ? you could have fun and meet new people …

    Reply

  9. Chirp
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 21:43:07

    OKay so here is the deal. I wrote out a huuuge long reply to each and every one of you and when i pressed submit comment, well I have no clue what happened. But because I appreciate y’all reading and commenting on my blog here it goes again!

    Chika – Facebook sucks now, the only reason i’m on it is to stay in touch with friends from the US. Hehe I like my hair so I would say sorry no :p but right now its pissin me off 😛

    Nomad – I’m glad your going again, your friend will understand if you had other issues … thats what friends are for 😉

    N. – I used to hate formalities, and I kind of still do, bas you need to do them, one day or another your going to need that person, so you might as well have left a good mark 🙂

    Tooomz- u know who I be talkin bout ;p

    eshda3wa – i gave up on her 2 months ago, I think now its been 3 months!

    swair – “wajeb” points lol that cracked me up hehe brownie points 😛 Yeah I know what you mean about not being a slave to gatherings bas you have to go to enough to show people that your putting an effort

    Prophet – your comment is way to long for me to reply to. I should just think WWLCD? :p I miss you

    Chroma -I’m an only daughter also, so i’m in the same position as you 😉

    Reply

  10. Tooomz
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 06:58:15

    I do, I do.

    And hey, I wanna join the “only daughter” club 😛

    Reply

  11. Swair
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 17:24:32

    YAY! Count me in on the Only Daughters’ Club Thing!

    Reply

  12. Darabeel
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 09:50:56

    I would give her a chance, and invite her after a couple of months if she still diched then hell with her.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

