COLD!

I get cold really easily.   I have three sweaters thrown in my car “just in case” and I usually try to remember to take a sweater with me if I go to friends houses.

Now at work I can’t wear my huge hoodies, so I have a nice huge shawl to keep me warm.  Its really big its awesome.  But its  TOO cold here at work.  And lucky for me my department is all men and they NEVER feel cold! So I decieded to pull my MN dressing ways.  LAYERING!!!!

I wear leggings and/or tights uner my pants, and I started suiting it up for work.  and wearing 2 layers under my blouse.

 I remember winter in the US, changing to go to class was a hassle in its own.  I wore so many layers I couldn’t wear some of my jeans!  Actually I kind of gave up wearing jeans in the middle of winter in the US, with the rain or snow the bottom got wet and heavy and gross.

I used to wear thermals, and 2 pairs of thick tights under my sweat pants and then I had these HUGE thick knee high socks.  I would top it off with uggs.  Then on the top I would wear a thermal, then a long sleeved shirt, then a tight tank to hold the other 2 closer to my body, then a sweater (a pretty thick one) then my winter jacket.

Ofcourse leaving the house without a scarf/mittens/hat is stupid.  The hat had to cover my ears, once I forgot to wear a hat and my friend decieded to pinch my ears, I cried from the pain!!!!

Coming from Kuwait I never knew that it got that cold EVER, I have seen snow in lebanon so I thought it would be like that.  Hell was I wrong.  Not only was it in the negatives, but with the wind chill it made it worse.   My worst months were january and february, but i liked the rest of winter, when it was not so bad. 

I loved the snow and the christmasy feeling during fall semeter finals. 

I remember once I had just finished all my finals and was walking back with a friend when I had JUST JUST JUST told her “I am so proud of my self, I have been here three winters and I still have not fallen down”

I spoke to soon! I took a step and well the games started!  My feet were sliding front and back and I could not regain composure.  I know it was coming and I was getting ready for the fall.  My legs went out from under me and I landed smack on my rear.  The force of the landing shocked me, but I was not really in pain. 
My friend looked shocked, and the guy who was walking towards us on the street was stifling a laugh and trying to help me up at the same time.  I told him he could laugh, because if it was him falling I would have probably laughed. 

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Prophet of Random
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 10:27:20

    Yeah, I’m feeling really cold too…. I’m wearing a sweater and a shawl. Everybody looks at me funny.

    I’ve have tons of falls. My first one was the one I was most embarrassed about. I dont know why I was embarrassed maybe because it was my first.

    Anyway, I was walking and I fell. Got really embarrassed so I hopped up really quickly pretending nothing happened and walked away really quickly. Only to see a guy run up behind me and give me something I’d dropped and ask me if I was okay. I was really embarrassed so I just mumbled “I’m okay. Thanks.” And I ran away.

    I was so retarded and shy back then. Im a completely different person now.

    Now, I probably would tell the guy: “I’m okay now that you’re here *purrrr*. I’m feeling kinda cold, wanna come back home with me and warm up?”

    Looool! What a whore! Looool….. yeah, I can’t see myself saying that, well maybe I would, if I was dared to.

    Anyway, yeah… I’m cold too…. maintenance is supposed to come up and turn off the AC in my room. Where the hell are they?

    Reply

  2. Purgatory72
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 10:37:41

    hmm so much layer, makes me wonder how many layers you wear in Kuwait and if that skin on you is real, or if you are really Tooomz under it all

    Reply

  3. Chirp
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 10:38:35

    LOL I can;t imagine you saying that! Heheheheeh

    I can’t imagine you being shy also! weeeeeeeeeeeeirdd! :p

    Ams I was standing with my shawl wrapped around me talking to my co-worker and he’s like “Bas ili nag9ich Light Saber” LOL

    Reply

  4. Chirp
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 10:39:43

    Purg – I’m really Britney Spears, but i’m hiding behind this skin.

    Reply

  5. eshda3wa
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 11:47:40

    laughing at people when they fall is just cruel!!!

    and just how cold is it where u work!!
    oh mi god!

    cant u ask em to madre do something about it?!

    Reply

  6. chikapappi
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 12:47:02

    LOL! The conversation above’s funny! There’s a girl at work who does the same thing & I look at her & go like: “Woman, I’m feeling HOT” – she has a heater on next to her too – Bard elKuwait is dry.. I miss it 🙂

    Reply

  7. intlxpatr
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 12:55:28

    Chirp, I am guessing you have read all the Lucas Davenport mysteries, I think it’s John Sandford? Great place for reading books by a nice crackling fire!

    Reply

  8. This Lady Says
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 13:04:56

    Laughing at people when they fall is like a natural reflex! LOL I dont know why!

    Chirp it seems that I have found my “coldness” twin. I freeze so easily. The doctor said that its probably due to poor blood circulation 😦

    In winter, when its exam time, I wear gloves or I cant hold the pen. My hand literally freezes up. And I lose control of my nose. Gross I know!

    Reply

  9. Dilly$
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 15:01:27

    I wore a jacket once in the winter, but almost never.. Actually I sort of had a two person sized jacket, but anyways…

    I find it hard to believe you could be cold there 😛 It was 80 in Green Bay this weekend and it was dreadfully too warm for October.

    Reply

  10. Swair
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 17:46:46

    Just reading this blog made me feel hot (weather-wise) LOL

    elmohim you’re comfortable..

    and seeing people fall is both painful and embarrassing lol

    Reply

  11. Jacqui
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 20:40:03

    I know your cold feeling, but problem is you can’t dress too warm and you can’t dress too lightly.. sooner or later you’ll feel the heat in excess!

    Reply

  12. Chirp
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 21:14:42

    eshda3wa – its a cruel world 😛 I think its okay if I laugh at ppl as long as their not hurt and as long as i’m fine if they laugh at me 😛 I change the temperature and as soon as I leave they change it back 😛

    Chika – which convo? with purg?? and LOL i need a heater at work!

    intlxpater – Nooo I haven’t read them, but i’m very into John Grisham. Addicted! He’s amazing. True about the fire!!!!

    This lady – YAAAAY! someone like me! hehe It might be from that, ana my hands and feet are usually always cold.

    Dilly – I MISS YOU! the good old days in the snow. You’re weird I dont remember ever seeing you all bundled up like me. Except in your snowsuit lol

    Swair – LOL why did it make you feel hot?

    Jacqui – YEAH i know u know how I feel, I think we complained about it cham mara via emails

    Reply

  13. N.
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 08:18:08

    Falling on ice/snow is a must, and it doesn’t hurt, probably because of all the padding lol! I do remember something worse, imagine being blown away in a gust of wind! A few ppl and I were walking to the business building, and a gust of wind hit us hard.. we froze in our place for about what seemed to be an eternity! (It was approx 5-10 sec!) I knew, if I had lifted one foot, or moved a single movement, I would have flown away in the wind! imagine.. haha now that is funny!

    Reply

  14. Chirp
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 08:24:53

    N – OMG I know what you mean!!! Lol! I used to just go back up 2 my apartment if it got that windy! Imagine mara I was walking to visit my friends at the sorority, and it was SOOO windy, and the ground was ICY! (they didnt shoverl or ICE IT) fa i was SLIDING on the side walk. The wind was pushing me and I was sliding (cheni skating). It was funny/scary/annoying all rolled into one.

    Reply

  15. N.
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 09:46:08

    Hehe wow! Yeah, That must have freaked you out! lol! All I remember is this phrase over and over in my head: “Oh shit, I’m gonna fly! Oh shit, I’m gonna fly..” hahahaha.. when the wind subsided, all of us burst out laughing.. from the shock :p

    Sliding.. must have been totally wicked! :p

    Reply

Leave a Reply

