I’m all grown up…

And I think i’m still confused about what I want to do with my life!

I like my job a lot, and I’m considering continuing my education in a similar field to get an edge at the work place and also to have other options open for me at other places (such as teaching at a college level).

I have been told by many people that I should be a lawyer, but I don’t think that is the field for me.  I took two “law” classes when I was at University.  One was American Education Law and Politics and the other one was Mass Communication Law.

My American Education class was one of the most amazing classes I have ever taken.  I LOVED the professor, he was absoloutly amazing.  He made the information so interesting and his lectures were so much fun.  I used to love going to class and taking notes, and even studying for tests was enjoyable!  Even though our class was made up of approx. 85 students he still tried to remember each one of our names.  We studyed, analyzed and wrote about court cases and how they are still affecting the education system today.

Then I deciede to take Mass Communication Law.  It was the worst decision of my life.  The professor was a witch! She was HORRIBLE I have never had a worse class than that.  Her lectures were dry, monotonic, and incomprehensible.  Each class we had to turn in a brief on a court case, the grading scale was as follows
10 – You have no errors
5 – You made 1 mistake
0 – You have more than 2 mistakes

So basically you needed to be absoloutly perfect to pass that class.  Mind you, she only SPOKE about an example of a brief and we were supposed to understand it.  Going through that class was hell. 

Anyways back to topic.  After taking MC Law I swore law school off, I did not want my mother to bring up the subject of law school.  HELL NO.

But sometimes, I do consider law school, when I close my eyes and try to visualize my future, I see my self getting a JD more than i see my self getting an MBA. I have been praying to God to give me a sign, to show me where i’m supposed to be in life and what I am supposed to do. 

Actually I KNOW what I want to do, I just want the finances (and an acceptance).

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chikapappi
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 01:59:53

    yalla ya rab! Allah makes every thing goes smoothly for you = a lawyer?! Interesting! People always make fun of me saying I should’ve been one! Bas my job’s ok for NOW! I’ve been there for 5 years and still have no clear future visions … seems like it’s how things are run now..

    Reply

  2. Purgatory72
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 05:38:08

    No, law is not for you.

    Reply

  3. Blue Dress
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 07:43:02

    for some reason male teachers are better than female teachers or most of the time.

    good luck with your business.
    and dont worry about time.

    Reply

  4. eshda3wa
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 11:54:03

    so wat is it u really want to do?

    Reply

  5. intlxpatr
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 13:00:36

    You sound excited by the law. Women bring an additional element of humanity into the legal process (in my very humble opinion). It is one of the finest avenues of public service, and service to humanity. Don’t listen to all those evil lawyer jokes – there are some very very decent men and women making a big difference in many lives by their devotion to ther duties, and to the law.

    Law school is hard. Some professors are inspirational, some are dogs. Some subjects that are required are brutal. If you decide on law school, do it knowing it is a huge sacrifice for three years.

    (I think you would be GREAT.)

    Reply

  6. Chirp
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 21:45:56

    Blue – Yeah its true in some instances but I had a lot of great woman professors in college.

    eshda3wa – be a professor. (and a super mom)

    Intlxpatr – Yeah I know law school is hard. I think i’d go through law school just to go back to teach. I like teaching I find it enjoying, also because I loved my college professors they really REALLY made a huge impact on me. and THANK YOU!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Reply

  7. N.
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 03:51:48

    If not law, why not an activist? It is still a valid career (as dictated by one of the career information resources I have recently visited).

    And if you’re into Law, and would like to get into business. Why not Business Law, and if you want to teach as well, why not get a PhD and teach Business Law in Univ.

    Whatever it is you like, you really don’t have to do one thin exclusively, thats important to remember 😀

    Reply

  8. intlxpatr
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 05:34:31

    N. is right. A law degree gives you options to go just about anywhere. I can’t remember the statistics, but more than half the people that get law degrees don’t practice law. The best part of a law degree is that it really trains your mind to think.

    Reply

  9. jenna
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 08:42:39

    Masters with wrrra nd mirim!

    Reply

  10. jenna
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 08:47:00

    Masters with wrrr and mirim!

    Reply

  11. Chirp
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 08:52:19

    Jenna – umbaih 7adaaaah! imagine us all living 2gether. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

