Back to Life

Back to reality!  I am back from my little vacation.  I REALLY REALLY needed it.  It was hard getting on the plane to come back, but I did miss my friends.

I loved Rome, it was my first time visiting Rome.  I have been to other parts of Italy when I was younger but not Rome, and I have not been to Europe since 2001!

We left on Wednesday afternoon, our plane was delayed for an hour and a half, we arrived at our hotel at around 7:30 PM.  We stayed at The Art Hotel, which is a boutique hotel a couple of steps away from the Spanish Steps.  I LOVED the hotel, its different from any other one we ever stayed at.  Its not big, since its a boutique hotel, its only 4 stories high.  The lobby has a mix of classic and modern look.  Each floor in the hotel is a different color, ours was orange.  The whole hallway from top to bottom was orange, and so was the bathroom.  In the pictures on the site it looked kind of weird, but its actually very funky.  The rooms are TINY but it doesnt matter because your not going to spend anytime in there except to sleep.  The hotel staff were amazingly nice and very helpful.  I loved the hotel.

Our main mission on that trip was to shop, and shop we did.  Its really hard for me to find my size in evening gowns (sahra dresses for weddings) in Kuwait because they tend to bring huge sizes and they usually look weird on me and I have no patience to get pinned up just to realize the dress is ugly.  But guess what, my size was always readily available there! I was SO happy, I got THREE dresses, one is really short, one is semi short and one is long.  THe really short one is the hottest, its red, and well fits perfectly with my body, it only needed a little alteration because i’m smaller from the top.  The half short is gold and black and the long one is leopard print.  It looks really elegant and not tacky, I loved it.

Not only did they have my size in clothing, they had my size in shoes.  I didn’t buy a whole bunch of shoes, but I did get four pairs of shoes, 2 of them boots, one of the boots is metallic gold/bronze color (its nice). 

I ate a lot of Gelato there, I couldn’t find the “Blue Ice” one that tooomz told me ab out, so I had a lot of tiramisu and coffee gelato.  I loved how they had cafes and restaurants on every corner, perfect for me, since I need to be fed every three hours or so. 

The weather was perfect, it was extremly nice, not cold and not hot, u only needed a lightsweater when the sun set or when you were in a shaded area.  The people were really nice even though many did not speak english at all I did not have problems getting around.

My mother and I also did a full day tour of different places, we went to St Peters Bascilica, the Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navonna, The Roman Forum, the Colloseum, the Pantheon and other places that I need to remember the names to. 

We walked A L O T on that trip, it was so so so so so sooooooooooo good to be able to just walk and not for excersice reasons.  I didn’t realize how much I missed it. 

I know my mother doesn’t read my blog, but I’m just gonna say Thank you mama for one of the best trips ever, love you :*mwah!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tooomz
    Oct 21, 2007 @ 05:39:41

    Your post makes me want to return there 😦

    I’m glad you had a great time ;** It’s good to have you back!

    Reply

  2. N.
    Oct 21, 2007 @ 06:46:09

    The hotel looks very modern. Not at all how I imagined it would look like. Glad you had fun! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Blue Dress
    Oct 21, 2007 @ 07:02:36

    Well 7amdilah 3al salama, oh my god the hotel is beatuiful…
    what is the flavor of blue ice though?

    Reply

  4. Tooomz
    Oct 21, 2007 @ 07:55:04

    Blue Dress Blue Ice is a gelato chain in Italy. They serve all flavors of ice cream. The ice cream in Rome is fantastic but Blue Ice gelato was my favorite there 🙂

    Reply

  5. Zainab
    Oct 21, 2007 @ 08:00:17

    7amdella 3al Salama Chirp!
    Great to hear you had a good time.

    Reply

  6. Chirp
    Oct 21, 2007 @ 08:03:03

    Thanks you guys, the Hotel was amazing! 🙂

    Zainab – welcome to my blog 🙂

    Reply

  7. chikaP
    Oct 21, 2007 @ 12:07:55

    🙂 I guess you needed it * glad you enjoyed 😀 – now you need to focus on work 😛

    Reply

  8. intlxpatr
    Oct 21, 2007 @ 14:51:07

    Sounds like a wonderful trip, and finding clothes, shoes and boots that fit and that you love – what a bonus!

    Isn’t it wonderful to be able to walk freely, anywhere, just anywhere?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

