Why we do the things we do

Do you ever go against everyone, and do what you want, and when you do it you think “Ummm what the heck did I do?” <– It could be in a good or bad way.

 Before I went to Minnesota, my mother, her friends and a lot of my relatives tried to talk me out of going.  They all told me that it was freezing there and that the winters were LONG and merciless.  I did not listen, I didn’t want to listen, who was going to live there you guys or me?! was my question to them all the time.

I had just finished my freshman year in the UAE, and I wanted to go somewhere far far far away from any khaleeji people for a while.  I wanted to go to a place where I did not know a single soul and see how that would turn out.

So I went, and when I finally got off the plane at MSP International Airport it hit me, in 10 days I was going to be ALONE!!! My mother was going to leave me and I don’t know anyone!  I started to panic at the airport, but whatever I was so tired that by the time we got to the hotel I washed up, changed and passed out. 

Thankfully we got to know some very friendly people when my mother were there who helped me out a lot.  My university was H U G E, always in the top 3 biggest universities in the US.  Theres around 53,000 students there and class sizes were huge.  It was really hard to make friends, you REALLY had to make an effort.  Then my 2nd semester there my friend joined me so she kind of eased the lonliness a little bit.

At the start of the next fall semester I was reading our college’s Daily newspaper when I saw the ad for Rush Week for sororities, I couldn’t make the Rush activities because I had work (yes I used to work at the bowling alley/restaurant/little store on campus) so I contacted some of the sororities and waited for them to call back.

I visited a couple of houses and met some girls and the one that I really enjoyed was Kappa Alpha Theta, and as I wrote in an earlier post, that was the sorority I joined.  It was interesting being in it and now that I think about it, thats where I met most of my friends.  In and through theta.  Most of the people I knew in the states were part of the Greek Community, but I also got to know others in my building and through classes, or by random chances.

Kappa Alpha Theta is the first womens sorority created! And guess who are Alumnae of theta?!

1. Laura Bush (Wife of George W. Bush)
2. Sheryl Crowe (Singer)
3. Kerri Strug (Olympic Gymnest)
4. Lynne Cheney (wife of Dick Cheney)
5. Melinda Gates (wife of Bill Gates)
6. Judith Miller (Journalist, NYT Reporter, you have to have read about her in the news couple of yrs back)
7. Kate Snow (Good Morning America)
8. Kate Millet (Feminist and Author, wrote “Sexual Politics”) She was in my chapter, the Upsilon Chapter at Minnesota!!!!!!
9. Jenna von Oy (Actress, from the show Blossom haha omg its SO old)

These are just a couple of names that I think many people might recognize.  Laura Bush is coming to Kuwait on Thursday, I wish I can pull the “sorority sisterhood” card and get to meet her, if not, I already told my mother if she got invited to meet her she HAS to tell her that I am a Theta.

A friend of mine, when she found out I had joined a sorority she jokingly said that “my friendship with her has been revoked”.  A lot of my friend (american and non american) made fun of me for joining a sorority, but I loved it, it seriously was an experience that I couldn’t get now.  Just like if I had not gone to Minnesota, I would not have experienced the whole “american college experience” as I wanted to experience it.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chikaP
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 12:28:34

    Ok, don’t kick my butt but I was gonna tease you by saying “SORORITY”!! Why!? I don’t like the whole concept of that bas guess it’s fun belonging to a group of some sort 🙂 especially when you are alone! I wish I could go away too :/ Maybe me & Prophet need to go hunting some place *wiggles eyebrows* – Live targets too! nihah!

    Reply

  2. intlxpatr
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 15:41:23

    And my mama was the president of the Thetas! It’s a great house almost anywhere you go. I didn’t pledge, but I used to play bridge with the Thetas on my campus – they were a great group. It’s a great way to connect at a large university.

    Reply

  3. Purgatory
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 15:50:06

    That is a revelation!

    Reply

  4. Chirp
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 16:35:26

    Chika – Don’t knock it until you try it! A lot of people have the wrong assumption.

    Intlxpatr – thats so cool! Thetas are the best and they really helped me with meeting people at the U of M.

    Purg – yes indeed.

    Reply

  5. Laialy_q8
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 20:30:36

    I must say i’ve been in the states for 5 years and it never crossed my mind not once to join a sorority … I had to even think twice when joining on comped groups

    Reply

  6. Chirp
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 21:21:01

    Laialy – Yeah everyone is different. I like to try everything that pops in my head, if its feasible that is.

    Reply

  7. N.
    Oct 23, 2007 @ 03:23:55

    That is fascinating. Probably when you are in a place and barely know anyone, that is one of the best, if not the best way to get to know a lot of people and have a good time!

    Reply

  8. eshda3wa
    Oct 23, 2007 @ 10:03:46

    that is so cool!

    once in a lifetime experience

    a lot of stories to tell the grandkids

    Reply

Leave a Reply

