Annoying Conversation

I was sitting with a group of women who were discussing schools and such for their children.  One of them asked in which private school she should enroll her child, so I said that she should enroll him at the “Lycee Francais” in Kuwait.  Not only will he be fluent in three different languages, he will automatically be a sophmore in college when he graduates (at least thats what I think, some ppl I know were like that).  I told her although American and English schools are really good, its so much better to know more languages now.

This is how the conversation went

Her:  There aren’t a lot of kuwaities enrolled in the school.

Me (and another lady): Yes there are kuwaities in the school “flana” and “flana” both have their kids enrolled in the school and they say its really good.

Her: Yes I know, but there aren’t A LOT of kuwaities, who will he play with?  Who will his friends be?

Me: What do you mean who will his friends be?  There are other kids in the school!!!

Her:  Nooo nooo I don’t want him to bring me (says different nationalities) to our house to play with, I only want him to mix with kuwaiti people.

Me: Are you crazy? Ish hal 3oqad il7imdila wil shikir.  I can’t believe your teaching your son this at such a young age, I don’t want to see what he will turn like later on in life.  You know that our population is close to nothing in this world, and that one day when he starts working he will have to answer to “these different nationalities” so if you don’t teach him how to interact and respect them from such a young age, he will have a difficult time in his life.  And he will have kuwaiti friends they do not have to be from school, he has his cousins and he could get to know your friends children etc.

Her: **ANGER ** where were your friends from when you were in school?

Me: When I was younger my friends were all different, we had to be friends with everybody, but when I got to highschool each nationality mostly stuck with people of the same nationality, not because we didn’t want to mix with each other, but because the way we were brought up was simliar.  That doesn’t mean I didn’t consider others as my friends. 

She really angered me when she said those comments, I couldn’t believe what I heard!  I really couldn’t believe that in this day and age people still think like that.  I MIGHT of understood her saying that if she didn’t travel out of Kuwait, but seriously I was in SHOCK.  I was glad her two older sisters backed me up.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. N.
    Nov 01, 2007 @ 11:12:57

    Some people believe that since Kuwait works in *special* ways such as wasta and other relation/connection, they would prefer to strengthen the relationships their kids have at a young age in order for them to have many Kuwaiti friends that will help them in the future. Not only that but to learn from them how to get things done *the kuwaiti way*.. makes sense?

    Sounds very twisted and harsh doesn’t it? I used to think so, and this is what a lot of people believe. This is the world they live in.

    Reply

  2. Enigma
    Nov 01, 2007 @ 11:30:14

    I can see where she’s getting that from, chirp. There were VERY few Kuwaitis with me in high school, which I didn’t mind, they were my friends and I loved them, but when I got to university they literally scattered everywhere, and I was the only one from my class that went to that college and I was totally alone. All the girls who were with me had a whole bunch of friends from school in the same major or the university, so it was like starting all over again. You need connections here, that’s how things work unfortunately. If I have kids in the future, I’ll make sure they have a lot of Kuwaiti classmates.

    “Her: Nooo nooo I don’t want him to bring me (says different nationalities) to our house to play with, I only want him to mix with kuwaiti people.”

    As for that, I have nothing to say. Madri, sick and racist.

    Reply

  3. Prophet
    Nov 01, 2007 @ 11:32:28

    N. is right. Networking starts from day one! But I doubt that that is what that woman was thinking of. If anything she was thinking that other nationalities are not good enough to mix with her precious little monsters-to-be.

    Chirp you have to understand that in Kuwait most parents dont want their children to grow up to me be good, caring, well-rounded individuals. They want their kids to be like every other retard out there that snags and shags a “good” (rich) husband/wife.

    Ask that woman. What hopes do you have for your son? She’s not going to say “I hope he becomes a good person that distinguishes himself from others with good deeds. And I hope he will create positive change in this country and in the future of this world”

    She probably say I hope he grows to be a man who makes alot of money and will marry a nice pretty girl and bring me lots of grandkids.

    And thats all she wants.

    The thing is she is not totally to blame. Thats how she was raised. Thats all she knows. Thats her definition of a good, full life. And screw everything else.

    This is the problem with Kuwait (not only Kuwait of course) people here take what is handed down to them like blind beggars. They dont think of anything. They dont question anything. Questioning and challenging the “moral and ethics” and “3adat and taqaleed” and social behaviors is more than discouraged, its almost punishable.

    Seriously, I should so be designated as “Benevolent Ultimate Dictator” of Kuwait! Kuwait would become so awesome!

    Reply

  4. chikaP
    Nov 01, 2007 @ 11:37:13

    :@ – RACIST!!! BAS – I don’t like her at all!

    Reply

  5. Swair
    Nov 01, 2007 @ 14:18:51

    I hate that way of thinking :/

    i totally agree with Prophet too..

    Reply

  6. The Aggressor
    Nov 01, 2007 @ 17:03:02

    Unfortunately, this is an obvious nature! But let’s not forget that, even with our daily interactions with society, we still feel somewhat superior to other people. Take Bengali tea boys or Ahwazi car washers for example! Don’t tell me you spend as much time with them discussing the weather than your co-workers?

    That doesn’t mean we should propagate these sinful deeds to our children, at least not at this young age of schooling. The best we can do, as educated people, is to discuss the differences and let our children decide for themselves when the time is right, based on THEIR experiences, not ours!

    Racism is not the problem with “Kuwait”, it’s a problem with Kuwaitis, who happen to be human, and share the same values as well as vices as the rest of humanity. Case in point: African Americans, Moroccan French, Amerasian Vietnamese, Darfuri Sudanese, the list goes on!

    Stamping Racism onto a country as a whole is, and of itself, racist and unjust. One has to be careful not to mix the two issues together, as a first step towards minimizing it’s existence.

    Reply

  7. Mrm
    Nov 01, 2007 @ 21:46:47

    no friends are the best of friends

    Reply

  8. 3baid
    Nov 01, 2007 @ 23:15:47

    I thought foreign friends are cooler? XD

    Reply

  9. eshda3wa
    Nov 02, 2007 @ 00:57:32

    yeah this type of thinking is more common than not!
    but you know most of my friends in english schools are fluent in french, and even in my american school, the students that bothered to take french could speak beautifully, unlike me, i took it for 7 years and now all i remember is counting from one to 10!!
    there was a time when i had to write out essays!
    bs i never liked the language, thats why i never bothered to actually learn it
    one of my friends graduated our american highschool fluent in spanish… it all depends on the classes the school has to offer and what ur willing to take.

    Reply

  10. intlxpatr
    Nov 02, 2007 @ 05:24:58

    I graduated from an American school overseas, and I had a similar problem to Enigma – when I went off to university, there was only one other person there from my high school, and he was so homesick that he left after the first semester. It was very very very lonely.

    And, it was worth it. Going to a mini-United-Nations school was better than my undergrad university. I didn’t even bother going through the u-graduation ceremony (my hs graduation was in a castle! 🙂 )

    It’s a different world. The more you learn, the more you understand about other cultures, the more tools you will have as time rushes past.

    As my father was dying last year, many of his caregivers were Ethiopian, Senegalese, and Gambian. The USA is full of immigrants. Things are changing all over the globe. Kuwait is already a mini-United nations. How are we all going to get along unless we learn at a young age?

    Reply

  11. Angelo
    Nov 03, 2007 @ 05:19:30

    Yes, that is indeed a retarded mentality. For example, I have been in public schools since I was born (except for now since I’m getting my college degree in the US) and I have to say it didn’t enhance my social skills beyond my nationality and gender. Some boys there always have a deluded idea regarding other nationals and women…it’s so retarded that is disgusting sometimes.

    Unfortunately, what N. has said is the general idea that the majority of Kuwaiti families possess, so I’m afraid that Kuwait will always breed some backward, discriminating people.

    Reply

  12. chikaP
    Nov 03, 2007 @ 22:42:08

    Chirp chirp! Next time you go some place, inform us! We would have loved to meet you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

