When you reach that fork in the road ..

Sometimes in life you reach a point where you have to make a life altering decision, that will last with you for the rest of your life.  Sometimes the choice is easy, you know exactly what you want, and you will almost fully know the outcome of your decision.  But other times its not that easy.

Imagine reaching that fork in your life, and the path is choose is REALLY unclear, you have no idea what the outcome will be, and how hard it will be, but its your choice.  Then the other path is the path that everyone has taken, and everyone wants you to take because THEY “think” its the right decision for YOU, but you still want the other path.

Everyone is telling you the path you’ve chosen is stupid, that its the biggest mistake you’ll make in your life, you’ll regret it later on in life, you see if from a different view point and they say that they know and want whats best for you.  Would that falter your faith in the decision you made?  Would you go back in your decision and follow in everyones footsteps? 

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nibaq
    Nov 20, 2007 @ 11:21:29

    Could be worse; what if everyone didn’t care or tell you what they think?

    Reply

  2. 'GreY'
    Nov 20, 2007 @ 12:41:43

    Years ago i took a financial dicision out of madness and anger ! when everyone almost Evreyone told me to turn back i didnt … and i burned badly … came out a pauper …

    Years ago i tool a relationship decision out of love and madness (in love) … When everyone almost everyone told me to turn back i didn’t … and it turned out to be pretty good … found my soulmate …
    Point is people want to say what they want to say … God has given you wisdom … Use it .

    Sorry for the long comment !

    Reply

  3. Chirp
    Nov 20, 2007 @ 13:01:13

    nibaq – giving advice is one thing, forcing their advice on you is another.

    Grey – My wisdom and I have parted ways long ago :p (kidding) I’m trying to use my wisdom in this situation, but my fear is over ruling any other feeling I have.

    Reply

  4. Laialy_q8
    Nov 20, 2007 @ 14:10:05

    even if it was a mistake, don’t people learn from their mistakes? So if you path doesn’t kill you, you still have a chance to take another

    Reply

  5. intlxpatr
    Nov 20, 2007 @ 14:37:41

    No matter how much we think we know, no matter how “clear” a path may seem – we don’t know anything. We can plot probabilities and possibilities, while God laughs. We have no idea what is in store for us.

    Part of our job may be to discover what it is we were created to do. If you have some strong feelings about what it will take to make your life worth living, follow those feelings. Go for it. Life is unpredictable, and you might as well make the best use of it.

    Reply

  6. N.
    Nov 20, 2007 @ 14:42:22

    It all is tied to what you know and what you do not know about the unclear path. A single piece of information can make it clear and can change your decision. Make your decision not based on what people think is right, or see is right, but what you think is right, and see is right for you; that would be the right choice! If you have chosen, and noticed that you have chosen wrong and have the chance to correct it, then do so, because that chance to correct is there for a reason, or else you would just be stuck with someone you don’t really want, or don’t really believe in.

    Reply

  7. N.
    Nov 20, 2007 @ 14:43:49

    with something*you don’t really want

    Reply

  8. Jacqui
    Nov 20, 2007 @ 20:05:19

    Im at that fork in the road 😦

    Reply

  9. Dilly$
    Nov 20, 2007 @ 21:39:05

    Have you chosen that path or are you still choosing? Are you saying your choosing one path and still looking at the other path? If you can still see the other path you are still at the forkin fork.

    Reply

  10. This Lady
    Nov 20, 2007 @ 22:38:31

    God why did u have to remind me? 😦 I’m at that fork in the road, and i’m looking at one direction whereas everyone i know is pushing (or pulling?) me in the other direction..

    I think I’m too lazy to go my way.. probably going to end up with them.

    But ur not wrong to choose ur own way. I wish I would.

    Reply

  11. Enigma
    Nov 20, 2007 @ 23:42:48

    I would choose my own way. They had their chance to make their choices and learn from their mistakes, and I want my chance too.

    Reply

  12. Chirp
    Nov 21, 2007 @ 04:53:27

    to everyone – I Know! I keep on telling them that I want to chose my way (that sounds like Frank Sinatra song). That even if it is a mistake in the end at least its MY MISTAKE, i didn’t do what they wanted me to do and have it be a mistake but not on my real true choice.
    They still tell me i’m stupid. :p

    Reply

  13. nibaq
    Nov 21, 2007 @ 09:24:35

    I always make the right decision based on the information that was available to me at the time.

    Reply

  14. intlxpatr
    Nov 22, 2007 @ 01:06:43

    Nibaq – *LLLLOOOOLLLLLLLLLLLLLL*

    Reply

  15. zia
    Nov 26, 2007 @ 23:13:19

    listen to others for their experience.. then make your own choice.. it’s your life.. you’re the one that will be most affected… and you’re the one that going to have to live with the decision

    Reply

Leave a Reply

