What’s the rush?

Before I start this post, I’d like to say I really REALLY feel like going clubbing! I was listening to songs that made me want to dance and I really want to go to Lebanon or back to the states!!!

****

Anyways, my mother has recruited troops to convince me that marriage is the next step in my life.  Not only is it the next step it has to happen NOW.  My response was HELL NO people.  The though of getting married now makes my heart beat so fast, my anxiety sky high, and to put it in simple words, I FREAK OUT.  Seriously, this is something forever, its a commitment for life, and with that comes a lot of responsibilities.  I’m not one to go into something when I’m not 100% sure I can handle it all without depending on anyone especially as something as big as this. 

Then one of my friends pointed out that we have not even lived a quarter of our lives yet, we’re still 23!  We haven’t really LIVED LIVED to know what we want from life, and they want me to make a lifetime decision NOW?!  Clearly if I need convincing on this subject I really am not ready. 

I was sitting in my room after a REALLY long and stressful day at work when her friend walked in and sat in y room.  Shes like

“Chirp, your 23 now and you should really think of getting married, this is the completion of your religion and its a must in everyones lives, opportunities come only ONCE, you need a man in your life, someone that you can lean on and depend on, he can keep you safe.  Someone you can be proud of to be your husband. “

Whatever! I have not depended on a man in my life for 23 years, why should I depend on one now?! So all these years of my mother trying to make me independent was BS? 

AND PLEASE opportunities do NOT come only once.  If everyone thought that way and gave in to the first opportunity that came to them the world would be a dull place.  ,,,,, Britney SPears is still fighting for a comeback :p

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Enigma
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 10:07:57

    it’s not like married people are any happier..

    Reply

  2. Zuzu
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 10:08:54

    Every girl has a different aspect on MARRIAGE but if your not ready for it and your totally happy with your life then I guess theres no rush!And sometimes its also nice to get married when your young,especially to someone you love hence you grow up building your lives togeather, mmm does that just exist in FAIRYTALES. Somehow it is scary hehe

    Reply

  3. Chika
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 12:18:10

    Hmm, clubbing!? yes something I need right now :/ There’s no right time for marriage just go along with your mom, she’ll get sick of your saying no 😉

    Reply

  4. shopa
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 14:14:50

    you are still young!

    join me in my campaign against Marriage

    Reply

  5. Jacqui
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 19:05:36

    You had to bring in Britney Spears into it didn’t you?

    Reply

  6. Chirp
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 20:28:32

    Enigma – I KNoooooow! totally agree!

    Zuzu- that only exists in fairytales, marriages are hard work. i think love, honesty, loyalty and respect are very important to have for a good marriage, along with understanding and other stuff too.

    Chika – clubbing is something i desperatly need … there is a right time for marriage, its when ur mind and heart both agree ur ready 😛

    Shopa – I am young huh? LOL i’m not anti marriage tottaly, justg for now.

    Jacqui – But of course!! ;p

    Reply

  7. Prophet
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 11:11:22

    Something that I try to get into alot of girls heads is that A MAN DOES NOT COMPLETE YOU.
    If you are broken or something is wrong in your life, getting a man will not fix a thing. If you are incomplete to start with adding somebody else into the mix just means you are going to be incomplete with more responsibility.

    YOU DONT NEED SOMEONE TO COMPLETE YOU, YOU NEED SOMEONE TO COMPLIMENT YOU.

    And I don’t me the “you look pretty” compliment.

    I’m not saying don’t get married. Wanting to be intimate with the opposite sex is natural biology. Wanting a connection is normal.

    What I’m saying is YOU and YOU ALONE are going to have to live with this YOUR ENTIRE LIFE. Not your mother, not her friends. You. You are going to have to wake up everyday, go to sleep everyday with the SAME PERSON.

    That alone would drive somebody insane. Imagine doing that with somebody your not even in love with to start out.

    Even if the guy is “nice”, thats far from enough.

    I’m “nice”. Imagine spending the next 50 years with me, chirp. Seriously, night and day. Now, I know you love me Chirp, but your not IN love with me (I hope *gulp*). Could you do it?

    Marriage is far from the honeymoon and hugs and kisses girls think it is. It is essentially a partnership through which you’re going to suffer alot.

    Don’t think “who’s going to be my husband?” think “who’s going to be my partner, my teammate in life?”

    To make it simple, think of life like a big school project. You get to choose one partner to help you out. You would probably want to go for the one who respects you and your ideas for the project. Somebody who even if you have a disagreement with you can still tafaham and reach a compromise. In the long run, the guy who’s really hot and popular (so popular your mom thinks hes cool), but is stupid and disrespectful is going to put you through hell while youre trying to create your beautiful masterpiece project.

    And Chika: WTF? “There’s no right time for marriage just go along with your mom”
    Yeah, there’s a mature adult decision. I’ll just do what my mother says about major decision that will alter my life without even thinking about it. (I’m being sarcastic incase you didn’t catch that).

    You should listen to your mother’s advice, but you don’t have to take it. Just take it into consideration.

    I believe that at this point in life you have to make your decisions. And you have to live with them. And there’s no one to blame about a foregone opportunity, or a bad choice but yourself. So think and choose wisely….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

