Keep on Smiling!

We have it much better off in Kuwait than the rest of the world il7imdila, we live relativly easy and relaxed lives.  Before I start my rant I’d like to say I am thankful for everything that God has given me, but there are somethings in life I wish I had a choice in.

I wish it was as easy as packing up and moving trying to see if I can make it COMPLETLY on my own without having to worry about the million and one consequences and everything that will happen.  Why can’t I be an individual, why do I have to be reffered to as “So-and-So’s daughter”.  Why does everything I do have to be reflected on my mother?

I wish I was anthropologist so I can study Kuwaiti people and find the root of their anger/meanness.  Not everyone though, but seriously the majority. 

Yesterday I went to a different dept to ask a simple small question, I asked this girl and when I was done I thanked her, she didn’t even LOOK AT ME! I wanted to slap her!!!

“Al-ibtisama fy wajh akheek 9adaqa” <— this is one of the simplest things in life to do, and again I reiterate the face that kuwait is a “Muslim Country that abides by  islamic rules”, why are we so cheap on smiling? 
Why the sour face?!

smile.jpg

Keeeeeeeeeeeep On Smiling 😉

***

Why is 7ab so addictive?! I stopped eating it cuz once I start I just keep going and going until the whole bowl is done, then I go through 7ab withdrawal! :p
My friend asked me to get him 7ab from Cairo, and after I dropped it off to him he txted me “Ra7 ad3eeelich ib kil 7aba akilha” LOOL il7imdila 😛

***

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. princess
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 08:54:38

    hmmm 7ab is addictive but it makes my lips shwaya salty hehe oh yeah SMILE ib wagh il 3alam aish fe! wala marat i feel il sharha 3alay i smiled for u *****

    Reply

  2. chikapappi
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 09:06:53

    well I am guilty of 7ab consumption as for these people, I don’t think you can change anything! :/ I love you

    Reply

  3. Nicole
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 11:14:37

    What is 7ab???

    And heck, I think, the habit of NOT smiling, saying “Hello” and whatnot is just Kuwait wide, Kuwaitis and Expats the same.

    If someone greets me friendly, I greet back and if someone doesn’t greet me, after me greeting him/her, I can hardly suppress a nasty comment.
    We have a lot of those people here.
    Well, AND we have those that see the nice smile as an invitation to whatnot :S
    I’m usually a very friendly person but I’m gliding along the edge of strangling the next idiot that gets a nice smile and hello the wrong way 😉

    Reply

  4. Chirp
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 11:48:41

    Princess – LOL oh well u passed on some good vibes though!!

    Chika – hehehehehe 7ab consumption

    Nicole – 7ab are the Seeds people eat, like sunflower seeds or the other types found here.

    Reply

  5. Hasan.B
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 13:07:01

    Its “alebtesama fe wajh akhek sadaqa” and nice post

    Reply

  6. Chirp
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 13:15:37

    Thanks Hasan Changed it!

    Reply

  7. Jacqui
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 19:21:15

    Oh no one smiles there 😛 Thats why we have bad customer service 😛

    Reply

  8. Mrm
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 23:16:41

    why do u think i want an MA in anthro (and media)?

    Reply

  9. N.
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 05:59:43

    There was once an ad campaign. Smiles are contagious I believe was the slogan — not here, they aren’t.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

