Reflections on the New Year

Its nearly the end of the year, and the start of a new page.  I don’t really believe in New Years resolutions, BUT I do have just ONE.

1. Find a way to reorganize my room until we move into our new house.  I don’t care about painting it any more, I just want it to be organized.  More bookshelves, more closet space, etc etc.

On my drive to work I was reflecting on this past year.  2007 was not bad at all (il7imdila ya rab).  Here are my accomplishments/things I figured out/changes about me.

1. I got a better job
2. I saved/I am saving money
3. I figured out who my true/real friends are
4. I did LAZIK (epi lazik)
5. I found out that the thing we ride on in the ba7ar can go on the sand also.
6. My weight stayed the same (almost) through out the year
7. I keep on getting accepted to colleges for grad school
8. I kind of learned my lefts and rights
9. Finished level ONE of Spanish!!
10. I will not settle for anyone/anything that I know I can do better
11. Realized how important some ppl are to me (my Tikka and yars)
12. I’m a strong and confident woman 😉

My goals for 2008 (NOT RESOLUTIONS!)
1. Convince my mother to let me go get my masters done
2. Try to become better in Spanish and in French and MAYBE start one more language (Mandrin/Russian)
3. Horseback riding
4. Go back to the gym
5. Visit Minneapolis & LA soon
6. Learn to really walk in all types of heels
7. Invest my savings
8. Donate money to charities, find something I feel strongly about.
9. Buy a semi professional camera and take up photography.
10. Learn how to apply simple/basic make up
11. Be Positive
12. Stay Fly

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chikapappi
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 10:14:09

    good luck & happy new year 🙂

    Reply

  2. Tooomz
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 10:34:10

    I kind of learned my lefts and rights

    Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahaha

    I notice you didn’t add that as a “goal” for ’08 ;P

    Reply

  3. Nicole
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 11:05:18

    That’s a lot for 2008 🙂
    Yeah to the camera :)!!!

    Reply

  4. Purgatory72
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 11:21:25

    I did LAZIK (epi lazik)]

    I read this and thought it was hair removal.

    Reply

  5. Chirp
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 11:45:54

    Chika – Thanks!!!!

    Tooomz – Yeah it doesn’t matter any more 😛

    Nicole – YAAy for the camera i know im excited!

    Purg – LOL !!!!

    Reply

  6. intlxpatr
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 12:15:21

    You have amazing insight, and you are capable of so much more than you know.

    #8 – here is a quote from your previous post –
    “I wish I was anthropologist so I can study Kuwaiti people and find the root of their anger/meanness.”

    Go for it. Break the chains that bind you. Make your Mum your ally. Talk to her, help her understand your yearnings, and anything is possible.

    Reply

  7. Swair
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 17:14:11

    Zain etsaween… and as a photography lover (photographer and appreciater), I say go for the camera and let your creativity go wild 😀

    Reply

  8. Jacqui
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 19:19:36

    What no mention of loving me ? 😛

    Reply

  9. Mrm
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 23:17:20

    ur lists made me smile

    Reply

  10. Zabo0o6a
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 23:39:49

    May all ur wishes come true 🙂
    Btw ,i can help you with the make up and heels thingie :Pp

    Reply

  11. N.
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 06:11:01

    Betowfeej enshalla, Stay flyyyyyyyy.. slick!

    Reply

  12. eshda3wa
    Dec 14, 2007 @ 00:14:45

    i love how ur goals not resolutions are so doable!
    so inshallah ull achieve all of em!

    Reply

  13. Nwair
    Dec 16, 2007 @ 20:02:50

    loooooool tadreen shkether fe9alt 3aalaa : i learned that the thing we ride in the ba7ar can also go on sand ! LOOOOOOOOOOL ! shit that was funny ! and chub u DID NOT learn ur lefts and rights, u almost always kill me :p

    Reply

Leave a Reply

