Loft House Sugar Cookies

Lofthouse

 I used to be ADDICTED to those cookies.  I would buy a box of them everytime I went to the grocery store, which is almost once a week.  No one was allowed to touch my cookies with out my consent.  I always got the ones with pink frosting.

They are the BEST sugar cookies ever.   SOoooo soft and their frosting is just so perfect.  I wish I can find sugar cookies as good as the Lofthouse cookies in Kuwait.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Prophet
    Feb 05, 2008 @ 15:05:28

    I like sugar cookies too! Religious c*nts love their cookies like the fat kid loves cake!

    “Discovered in a subway” Meow! Loooool!

    Reply

  2. This Lady
    Feb 05, 2008 @ 17:41:25

    Never heard of them. Must try 😉

    Reply

  3. Princess
    Feb 05, 2008 @ 18:36:04

    ok now i want cookies too 😦

    Reply

  4. Hamitaf La BookaY
    Feb 05, 2008 @ 20:03:10

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm coooooooooookies!!!!!

    Reply

  5. Enigma
    Feb 05, 2008 @ 21:54:05

    maybe sultan center can get them for you?

    Reply

  6. Outkasty
    Feb 06, 2008 @ 01:07:47

    3abaali ice-cream 😐

    Reply

  7. shopa
    Feb 06, 2008 @ 07:24:20

    very high in calories as well.

    Reply

  8. N.
    Feb 06, 2008 @ 09:09:21

    I don’t like frosting! Yalla bel 3afiya :p

    Reply

  9. Tooomz
    Feb 06, 2008 @ 09:14:26

    I love sugar cookies! But I used to just get Kroger’s fresh ones. I never tried these.

    Reply

  10. Chirp
    Feb 06, 2008 @ 09:16:45

    They are the best!!!!!!!

    N- then I should always eat cupcakes around you :p the frosting is my favorite part. I’ll eat that and u can have the rest of the cupcake?:P

    outkasty – shloon shiftay icecream? 😛

    enigma – maybe i will go ask them

    Reply

  11. Ashley
    Mar 26, 2008 @ 06:18:42

    I hear that this recipe is just like the lofthouse

    Ingredients:
    1 (18.9 oz Pkg.) Pillsbury French Vanilla cake mix
    1/3 C vegetable oil (Crisco)
    2 eggs

    Preheat oven to 375F
    Blend, cake mix, eggs, and oil until moistened. Roll into 1″ balls. Place on ungreased cookie sheet. Flatten with a glass or cookie stamp.

    Bake at 375F for 6-8 minutes. Allow to cool 1 minute before removing to cooling rack.

    While the cookies are still a little warm, spread on some buttercream frosting. Allow the frosting to set up before storing.

    Buttercream Frosting

    1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
    6-8 cups confectioners sugar
    1/2 cup milk
    2 tsp vanilla extract

    Place butter in a large bowl. Add 4 cups sugar and then milk and vanilla. Beat on medium speed until smooth and creamy, approx 3-5 minutes. Gradually add remaining sugar, 1 cup at a time beating well after each time, about 2 minutes, until the icing is thick enough to spread. Add food coloring if you’d like.

    I like to let this go in the kitchenaid mixer for 10-15 minutes to make it really light and fluffy.

    Reply

  12. chelsea
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 23:05:55

    i tried this recipe today. the french vanilla cake mix cookies were excellent and dangerously similar to the lofthouse taste, however the icing was way to sweet and gritty.

    Reply

  13. chelsea
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 23:06:23

    the icing also did not harden very well

    Reply

    • Jordan
      Jul 21, 2009 @ 20:43:15

      try using four parts powdered sugar and one part butter with a few drops of vanilla. it hardens good and tastes amazing. i use it on all my homemade cookies

      Reply

      • T. Marie
        Oct 15, 2009 @ 08:25:07

        I wonder if she used regular sugar instead of powdered. I don’t see it being gritty or not be able to crust with powdered sugar.

  14. Cheryl
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 04:48:41

    I would not recommend using a cake mix…yuck. I searched for a recipe for these and I made some today with my son. They are super SUPER soft and yummy. The only thing I would change is to add a smidge bit of almond flavoring or the like. It just seems like it needs a little something.

    Here is the recipe I used. and ps. this frosting recipe is PERFECT!!!!

    Soft Sugar Cookies for a crowd
    1 cup margarine
    2 cups sugar
    2 eggs
    2 tsp vanilla
    1 cup milk
    4 tsp. baking powder
    6 cups flour
    1 tsp. salt

    Cream the margarine and the sugar. Add eggs and vanilla. Alternate milk and the flour mixture to the batter. (I think I would add a drop or two of almond flavoring) Refrigerate before rolling out dough. (I roll out onto parchment paper so I don’t have to add more than a sprinkling of extra flour). Bake at 350 degrees for 8-9 minutes. When cool, ice with your favorite icing and decorations.

    FAVORITE ICING FOR CUTOUT COOKIES

    2 c powered sugar, sifted
    2 Tbsp shortening
    ¼ tsp vanilla
    ¼ tsp almond extract
    1 egg white
    ¼ C milk or cream

    Combine egg white and milk, set aside.
    Beat together powered sugar, shortening and flavorings.
    Add small amounts of the milk mixture until icing is spreading consistency.
    Tint with desired colors.
    Using the egg white will give you a nice finish on the icing, the butter will keep it soft on the inside.

    Best of luck. I think they turned out so good and very similar to the store ones.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

