Addictions

After a very interesting conversation last night, which started off about alcohol and ended up being about all sorts of addictions, I realized that each person has the one thing that makes them lose control.  Some people might be able to have one drink and not have another all night long, while another person can’t resist not drinking until they are completly F.U.B.A.R ;p  There are ppl who smoke up (or smoke a cigarette or cigar) every once in a while (maybe once a month) and others who need it get through the day.

There are the workaholics, who go to work early and leave hours after everyone left.  There are the shopaholics, who go into debt because of their shopping habits.  There are the people who eat even if they are not hungry, and just keep on eating.  Then there are people who don’t eat at all.

I have lost a lot of weight.  At first I didn’t notice it that much because the clothes I wore were usually always loose fitting dresses or the same pair of jeans that I am in love with.  Then I realized that I had a million other pairs of jeans that I had completly forgotten about.  I put the first one on and it was loose, so I put it to the side.  Put the other one on and it was also extremly loose.  Thats when it hit me how much weight I lost.  I don’t own a scale so I never weigh my self, I could ball park how much I weighed a couple of months ago and I just weighed my self when I was in Dubai.  Its not that HUUUGE difference, but maybe cuz I am short it shows more.

I walked into my cousins house 3 days ago and her kids nanny was staring at me for the longest time.  I thought something was wrong with me.  Later when I was about to leave she told me that I had lost “too much weight”. 

My mothers friends tell me that I am “disappearing” and should start to eat.  The only problem is I do eat.  Its not like I see the food then feed it to the dogs.   I see the food and I eat it, but I have been limiting my intake of food.  Ofcourse I have my off days when I inhale everything on the table (with the help of a few friends).  I also have the shalaih days when I do not stop eating the whole time I am awake there. 

I am a really slow eater, and now I realized that I can stop a little bit before I get full, and after a couple of minutes the fullness will hit me.  I don’t feel guilty about eating though.  I love food.  I live to eat (and not eat to live ;p).  But realizing my eating habits and that I have lost a ton of weight has become some what of an obsession.  Thats why I am not going to buy a scale, so I don’t weigh my self on a daily basis and see if there have been any “changes”.  When I was in dubai I weighed my self in the morning and before I went to bed, every single night.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. blasha
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 00:48:31

    “There are the people who eat even if they are not hungry”

    Do u know any other way to make u happy???

    can’t do drugs… can’t drink… hate work and no money for shopping….. EATING IS THE SOLUTION 4 ME.

    Reply

  2. eshda3wa
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 01:00:02

    my god
    i want to lose weight
    i just dont want to put any effort into it
    so i dont know how thats gonna work

    Reply

  3. zainoba
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 09:10:55

    I want to loose weight too! And Im not able to Control my FOOD!I promised myself Id start today, Hope it works out INSHALLAH!

    Reply

  4. Prophet
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 09:36:43

    Wanna get addicted?

    Reply

  5. Rashisha
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 12:05:16

    I’m Still dieting .. I Have lost 7 kilos so far.. i ned to get back to my size when i was in dubai. I was so thin back then i think it was all the walking from the dorms to the classes and back… *Sigh* I miss those days!.

    Reply

  6. intlxpatr
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 18:19:59

    I would love to lose weight without thinking about it! YOU are SO LUCKY!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

