The Guilt Trip!

When this August rolls around, I would have been in Kuwait for 2 full years after graduation.  With only 1 major trip and 2 tiny trips under my belt, I feel the NEED to take a long vacation!  I only have 25 days off for the whole year and I am thinking of taking 15 days off this summer and traveling with my friends.  6ab3an before I take that “huge” step I need to take permission (three years in college as a young adn immature idiot I didn’t need permission, but as a responsible adult I need to ask my mom to leave!)

Anyways I told my mom that I wanted to travel in the summer and shes like “yeah ofcourse ANA basafrich” So I told her “No I am going to travel with my friends”  She slipped out and nearly yelled at me infront of her friends and with her “look” it was a NO.  I was SOOOOOOO frustrated and kinda pissed off, so I just left and went and ran all the errands and stuff I had to do.

So I waited until the next day, I woke up and found her meditating in the living room, so I waited for her until she was done and I opened up the subject again.

Chirp: Did you think about it.
Mom: Where are you guys going
Chirp: To the states
Mom: Shino 6aree 3alaikum!!!
Chirp: Umm we used to study there, I miss it, I miss my friends, I miss my life I wanna go visit!  I only have 25 days off of leave,a nd seriously I think wa9alt 7adi with Kuwait.
Mom: Only 25 days and ur spending it with ur friend!! I am ur mother.  U see ur friend EVERY SINGLE DAY o0 ana ma ta36eeeni wagt!
Chirp: I KNEW IT I KNEW IT!! I knew u were going to try to make me feel guilty so I do not go! NO WAY NO WAY! Two summers in a row u travel with ur friends! U didn’t think “Oooh poooor chirp ga3da bil q8 broo7ha!! OR EVEN ga3da bil q8! Don’t try to play the guilty card so I don’t travel!  The whole year ur traveling if not for fun for business and I just want to BREATHE this country is suffocating me.  So PLEASE do not play the maskeena mama, liana I know u have other plans, mani ray7a with ur friends, I have my own!!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zainoba
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 09:41:59

    Doesnt it Irritate you that you had all the Freedom and now you cant go where you want, when you want!

    Just keep on convincing her and sweet talk her, tell her youll split your 25 days between your friends and her!

    Reply

  2. Reem
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 11:16:21

    yea i agree..
    and check my comment on the previous post plz:) if u r serious about it hehe;p

    Reply

  3. Hamitaf La B
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 11:41:39

    – mothers always make you feel guilty…
    ex. Me: Woohooo… I graduated from college (business)
    Mother: mabrook… bs ana kan widee et9ereen 6abeeba… yalla may5alef lal7een fee e5wanich!
    Me: shooting myself in the head 🙂

    Good for you for telling your mom what you think… I always shut the hell up and screw my plans up for my mothers plans… but I guess thats why Im her favorite 🙂

    Reply

  4. Purgatory
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 12:27:28

    Your mom meditates, interesting

    Reply

  5. shopa
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 13:11:44

    I never understand how they let us live on our own for years yet they freak out on the thought of travelling with friends for vacation.

    Reply

  6. Big Pearls
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 15:47:13

    Hmmm how about u tell ur mom u’ll spend 5 days with her at some other time qair il summer?:p

    Reply

  7. 7san
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 16:10:07

    I like your way of persuading your mom! My sister had almost the same problem. She studied in the boston, but when came back to kuwait. Every time she wants to travel she had to argue with my mother. But it was okay I think. Its ironic that I am younger than her by two years, and can travel any way I want any time, alone etc..

    Reply

  8. Olórin
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 16:44:53

    lol! hope she lets you go =s

    Reply

  9. eshda3wa
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 17:00:07

    keep pushing
    and that guilt card will get old
    inshallah ull get to go!

    Reply

  10. intlxpatr
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 19:29:12

    I cannot imagine.

    Reply

  11. Jacqui
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 20:45:34

    It stinks, that the older we get the more rules they tie us down with hehe

    Reply

  12. G and L
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 21:20:24

    Uf moms always wanna guilt us into everything. Fight for it chirp!

    Reply

  13. Hasan.B
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 21:31:38

    aw Fight For your Flight!!

    Reply

  14. Chirp
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 22:10:02

    OKay so i wrote a reply to each and every one of you and then it just *POOOOOF* disappeared 😛

    I will nag until she says okay .. I am a good nagger .. If i want something i won’t shut up about it 😛 Fa id3ooli .. liana JAAAD i need this trip … i already took it off from work :p

    Reply

  15. EniGma
    Mar 10, 2008 @ 02:21:08

    u shud have seen what i had to go through for 3 freaking days in bahrain. Seriously, madri shfeehum! And DON’T buckle under the guilt pressure! You can plan a trip with ur mum anytime, but it’s hard to get a group of friends to settle on a date.

    Reply

  16. Mrm
    Mar 10, 2008 @ 13:09:58

    chrp ultimatums are scary

    Reply

  17. Intlxpatr
    Mar 10, 2008 @ 21:58:05

    It is just so alien to me that you have to ask your Mom, but I have a really hard time imagining moving back to live with parents after graduating university, even though I know that here EVERYONE does it, it is expected, it is a part of life, it is what is done. I love the way the families here are so close, and at the same time, I know I would feel the world closing in on me if I had to live that way.

    Reply

  18. kkaall300
    Mar 19, 2008 @ 18:15:34

    الدليل الشامل للمدونات العربية
    سياسة ، اقتصاد ، ثقافة ، حوار ،
    أدب ، شعر ، فن والمزيد

    http://blogsguide2.blogspot.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

