Money is not made out of paper but cotton

All through out college, I was not excited to graduate, not because I didn’t want to come back home, but because I didn’t want to work in the “expect place”.  I used to talk to my friend Fay on an almost daily basis in the US, and she used to always tell me she wanted to graduate, she hated school and she always saw her self in the corporate world. 

I loved school, I loved going to class, writing papers, and even sometimes taking tests when I knew what I was doing.  I loved my geology lab and my horticulture lab.  Of course I complained from time to time about school because I barely took anytime off except for christmas break and 3 weeks during each summer.  Most of my classes were liberal arts and strategic communication classes which basically meant a shitload of reading, analyzing, researching and writing.

Its not that I hate my job, I don’t.  I like it, its interesting, it pays good, but its not ME. I never saw my self in the corporate world, or in the banking world.  I don’t feel like whatt I am doing is important AT ALL, or even creative, I feel like I am wasting my life, I am not helping out society in any way. 

I always thought I go into education, become a college professor.  Unlike swair, I cannot handle high schoolers, I applaud her for her amazing work :*  Or I would work in a non-profit or an NGO that deals with educating unprivalged children , and ending up in UNICEF or UNDP. 

Ppl here “kaseraw meyadeefi”, that when the real world hits me, I would want a job that gives me money.  But you know what, the money is nice, bas the feeling of unfulfillment is really not .

 P.S – DYK that when you eat meat and drink milk during the same meal the body does not absorb any of the milks calcium … so its better to have two hours between eating meat and drinking milk. (Got that off the C&G calendar that was given to me the other day.)

P.P.S – I miss you.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zainoba
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 11:18:53

    Why don’t you try doing what you like! Everything is worth a try especially if you know you really wana do it and its going to be make you happy.

    Reply

  2. Hasan.B
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 11:52:54

    Do you wake up in the morning saying: off men lah khelg dawam? And if you do your PHD, you will teach in the UNI obviously, and doctors there are paid good. Am I right?

    Reply

  3. Chirp
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 11:56:28

    zainoba – I don’t know!!! I should

    Hasan – YES!!!! OMG a9lan I think about it before i sleep and when i wake up!! Yeah professors are paid well. They get double salary if they teach in the summer i think.

    Reply

  4. G and L
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 13:32:11

    But you know what, the money is nice, bas the feeling of unfulfillment is really not .

    Wow. That’s exactly what I’m afraid of when I start working. If you don’t feel fulfilled maybe you should take up some sort of hobby or volunteer somewhere..I’m sure you’ll find something to fill that “hole of emptiness”..

    Reply

  5. Chirp
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 13:37:27

    G and L – awal shay .. plz do something about ur blog cuz i cannot comment!! 😛
    oo ba3dain i want it to be my job, not a hobby. I don’t see myself doing this for the rest of my life. I actually DONT CARE about what I do .. thats why I am not as productive as I could be.

    Reply

  6. Enigma
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 17:20:47

    ee college professors get a nice amount when they teach in the summer.

    u think that applies to liban too?

    Reply

  7. Purgatory
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 22:28:37

    “strategic communication “, is that a fancy word for poking people in the stomach?

    Reply

  8. Purgatory
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 22:30:01

    And you talk about college, and you end up trusting a Calendar from a place named after a ghost ;p?

    Reply

  9. Chirp
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 23:03:06

    Enigma – LOL wala madry 😛

    Purg – no its a fancy word for being extremly loud 😛 LOOL why not? trust is good 😛

    Reply

  10. Hamitaf La B
    Mar 12, 2008 @ 17:51:52

    aaaaaah… going through the same situation… suffering from a very unfulfilling job… missing the whole busy with studying atmosphere… I have something to do during the day…
    Now.. I sit at work.. blogging – but thats not a bad thing – aaaaand listen to my boss who every other word is F***…
    I want to do something important too… 😦

    Reply

  11. Olórin
    Mar 12, 2008 @ 18:12:00

    I do get that feeling sometimes..makes me a tad nervous

    Reply

Leave a Reply

