Where are you from?

A lot of ppl tell me I do not look “Kuwaiti”.

I am “samra” with dark brown eyes and black hair. 

I was waiting for the elevator and this girl asked me to open our floor’s door for her, but she asked me in English, so I told her I am kuwaiti and shes like … “Did anyone ever tell u u don’t look q80?!”

What does “Kuwaiti” look like??

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. greyshorts
    Mar 23, 2008 @ 15:32:36

    I guess white =P

    Reply

  2. nQ
    Mar 23, 2008 @ 17:54:49

    you probably just wsant wearing enough makeup!
    dont mind greyshorts! damn racists!
    just wear goo6i rob and you’ll fit in!

    Reply

  3. ???
    Mar 23, 2008 @ 17:54:58

    Sometimes I’m told that I don’t look Kuwaiti but it’s usually from friends who think that they’ll get on my nerves by doing so. I am the darkest one in my family but I’m lighter than most Kuwaitis.

    Not that it really matters, I actually like looking exotic but apparently I don’t as most people I ask other than those friends say I look Kuwaiti!

    So to look Kuwaiti I guess you have to have either “beyath” or “semar” Kuwaiti i.e. shades darker or lighter than a tan. I think whenever someone says you’re not Kuwaiti you should thank them even if they are trying to offend you and then walk away. This will really piss them of 😀

    Reply

  4. G.E&B
    Mar 23, 2008 @ 18:27:31

    I second nQ. Be snooty, wear lots of names and letters, and keep your sunglasses on at all times. You’ll practically be handed a jinsiya.

    (BTW I’ve only ever heard people make that comment to really “fair-skinned” people. I have a friend who gets the “Akeed Omich Sooria..!” She’s not.)

    Reply

  5. Chirp
    Mar 23, 2008 @ 18:47:14

    greyshorts – how racist 😛 lool

    nq – im not met7ajbaa, where can i hide the goo6i?? ;p

    ??? – LOool sounds like a plan! 😉 I confused ppl agoolihum i’m half something. Or mara these guys ta7reshaw feeni ana oo my friend (oo we almost have the same exact skin tone oo ashabeeh (KIND OF) fa i turned around and spoke 2 her in hindi (the 2 words i know) the guys jaw DROPPED it was the funniest thing EVER.

    GE&B – I cant be snooty i can’t keep a str8 face :p I’d rather be the “unknown” than the “b*****” … laish sooriya mo min dawla thanya? Ya3ni il lebnaneyeen beeth too!

    Reply

  6. Purgatory
    Mar 23, 2008 @ 20:10:00

    hmmm and I thought you looked Kuwaiti, guess I need new glasses.

    Reply

  7. Angelo
    Mar 23, 2008 @ 21:23:02

    Really? I always thought the “sumur” fits into the Kuwaiti look quite well. I have been asked several times if I was Kuwaiti or not. I am really white. I have both hazel-colored hair and eyes, so I had this “Lebanese curse” while growing up LOL 😀

    Reply

  8. Mrm
    Mar 23, 2008 @ 23:40:43

    arabs look like camels.

    Reply

  9. adorra
    Mar 24, 2008 @ 00:21:38

    3ad the darker shade of skin, brown eyes and black hair is like the typical description of a Kuwaiti. I look so Kuwaiti it’s not even funny BUT I did get Brazilian here and I’m sticking to it. :-p

    Reply

  10. nQ
    Mar 24, 2008 @ 04:38:33

    3adi 😛 just wear it!! 😀 ahhaha EVEN BETTER!

    Reply

  11. Enigma
    Mar 24, 2008 @ 05:53:36

    LOL or put it all over your face

    Reply

  12. zainoba
    Mar 24, 2008 @ 07:06:51

    Lol. I thought Pure Kuwaiti is being Samra..NQ is right maybe cause you didnt have loads of makeup on. Some people just like being DUMB!

    Reply

  13. Chirp
    Mar 24, 2008 @ 08:12:47

    Purg – when did u see me? ;p

    Angelo – its not a curse 😉 it could be a blessing ;p

    mrm- chub intay ashbahich ghareeba LOOL :**

    adorra – i get indian heree and cuban in the states.

    nQ – as a nose ya3ni wela kamaam??

    enigma – MASK! 😛

    zainoba – LOOL i usually talk to ppl in arabic then they tell they are not arab :s

    Reply

  14. Cat
    Mar 24, 2008 @ 08:48:46

    looool

    madry !

    Reply

  15. Hamitaf La B
    Mar 24, 2008 @ 09:08:46

    Well.. I don’t think there’s a definition of Kuwaiti look anymore…!!

    Reply

  16. Purgatory
    Mar 24, 2008 @ 11:36:15

    am ThePurg, I see many people without them knowing ;p

    Reply

  17. TAT
    Mar 24, 2008 @ 12:28:11

    join the club 🙂

    Reply

  18. Prophet
    Mar 25, 2008 @ 08:53:52

    I think the whorish dress and over the top makeup is considered Kuwait’s national costume. So like the ppl before me I think that if you have those u r considered Kuwaiti-looking.

    3ad it was just yesterday that I went to the doctor and she was trying to figure out what family I was from based on the way I looked (yeah right).

    She looked at me and said:

    “Intaw il (my family name) il shee3a willa il sinna?”

    I looked her straight in the eye and said:

    “Il catholic”

    She just looked at me confused and blinked.

    Looooooool

    So I have decided: next time somebody asks me if I’m Kuwaiti I’m gonna say:

    “No, I’m catholic”

    Let the chaos and confusion begin!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

