Books and Vacation

Since I am officially on holiday since the 10th of July, I decided to give my brain somewhat of a holiday as well, since I will have to work it hard when I start my Masters program in september.  So my readings this vacation have been pretty much on the easy side.  VEERYY easy side. 

 I finished “Eat, Pray, Love” by Elizabeth Gilbert and I loved it.  I couldn’t put it down, every word I read I could imagine, all her problems her issues, her ups her downs, the food, the meditation everything.  It made me want to just put my life on hold and go to Italy and enjoy the food and life and learn the language.  I always wanted to do that but instead of Italy I wanted France then Spain, and now I Want to add Italy to my list.  Live 4 months in each country and learn the language. 

I finished reading the book in Minneapolis, so when I reached the airport to fly back to California,  I had nothing to read on the plane, so I stopped into the bookstore and started to browse when I found a book called “My Horizontal Life.  A collection of One-Night Stands” By Chelsea Handler, and at that time I had no idea who Chelsea Handler was.  ANyways I thought it would be a funny read so I bought it, and started to read it, and man was it funny, I was laughing out loud on the plane.  When my friends picked me up I showed them the book and that is when I found out who Chelsea Handler was, she has a show on E! now that my friends watch religiously, so I started to watch it also, cuz my friend Tivo’s it and we watch it at night right before we sleep. When I was done with that book, I bought her other book “Are you there Vodka, its me Chelsea” , omg shes hilarious, crazy, and just funny.  I finished that and now I am starting “Second Galance” by Jodi Picoult.

I’m on vacation for the next month, I leave Kuwait the end of September, and my anxiety is SKY HIGH, I try not to think about it, and the only thing thats keeping me cool is knowing that Mirim and Jenna rnt too far away.  It’ll be fun, I just need to get my act together and actually STUDY.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jacqui
    Aug 20, 2008 @ 19:02:46

    Our morning emails will be missed 😦

    But hope you have fun!

    Reply

  2. big pearls
    Aug 20, 2008 @ 19:27:25

    hope you have a great time:)

    Reply

  3. intlxpatr
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 09:02:21

    What a great life you are leading, Chirp! And what great years you have in front of you, too.

    Reply

  4. Linus
    Aug 22, 2008 @ 05:24:40

    Prepare your self, life is tougher than before here. I mean food prices are freaking high!

    Reply

  5. Chirp
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 00:36:57

    Jax – I knooow!!! we’ll try something else!

    BP _ thanks:)

    intlxpatr – thank uu!! I’d say the same about you!!!

    Linus – im not going to the US im going to the UK and its more expensive there !!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

