Jim and Monicas Wedding Reception Picnic Thing

One of the main reasons I times my trip at that specific time was because my friends Jims wedding reception thing was in July.  I had missed his wedding in Mexico and I wasn’t about to miss this.  I stayed in Minneapolis for 1 week.  THe first 5 days I stayed kind of close to campus with my friend Lil D, and during the weekend I stayed at a hotel in Downtown, to be walking distance from everything. 

Anyways Saturday the 26th Me and D were picked up at the hotel by Jims friend Donnie and his wife, where they took us to the rest of the group on theother side of downtown to a bar/restaurant called the LOOP.  We chilled there a little until the bus arrived.  We took a party bus all the way to the reception, which was 40 minutes away in Hudson, Wisconsin.  It was so much fun. There was a pole in the bus where the guys showed us their talents and shook what their mama gave them. 

When we arrived at the Park where the reception was held the guys put on the song Rockstar on fullblast and taht is how we showed our prescense to the rest of the guests ;p   It was more of what we would call an “istiqbal” here in kuwait, except its not even close to istiqbalat il kuwait, it was extremly laid back.  Jims father was grilling the burgers and hotdogs and you could also make ur burritos.  There was three different kinds of cake that had really good icing (i have an icing obsession).

My friend Danielle sleeps more than anyone I had ever met in my life, an hour in, she went and took a nap on the bus, so I was left alone.  I mingled around, I knew some of the guys there, but I got to know the rest, they were great! I had a blast.  We as the sun was setting and by the time we reached downtown minneapolis it was dark, we stopped in St Paul for a bit though.  Me and D went to change and we met up with the rest of the group at a place called the Loon, and I knew that other friends were going to be downtown on that day, so I met up with a bunch of different ppl.

One of the coolest things ever was there was a Mariachi band at the picnic!!!!!!!

I have a bunch of videos but I don’t know how to upload them 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linus
    Aug 20, 2008 @ 20:17:23

    OMG! sounds like you had fun!!!
    I think I should get out some more down here lol

    Reply

  2. N.
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 07:38:18

    Haha very coool. Loop? Loon? Khair enshalla =p Glad you had a good time!

    Reply

  3. Dilly$
    Aug 22, 2008 @ 16:59:08

    We were honored to have you there Charpy and it was great to see you of course.. Sunday morning could have gone better if we just deleted the attempted airport trip and went directly to couch sleeping.

    Reply

  4. eshda3wa
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 00:59:55

    wanasaaa

    glad ur having such a good time
    u seem like such an easy going person and have no prob making friends
    so i dont know WHY ur so nervous abt london

    anyways i have 20 pages to go eb eat pray love
    and i totally love it too

    jodi is currently one of my fav authors
    i love her books!

    Reply

  5. Chirp
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 00:38:57

    Linus – it was the best time ever .. u need to get out :p and make american friends ;p

    N. – hehe thanks .. squaash??:p

    Dilly$ – Graacias senor!!! I had a blast and i miss u already 😦 I miss everyone in the ‘Sota 😦 HAHAHA yeah i had a good time sleeping on that couch!

    eshda3wa – merciiiiiii … im nervous cuz im a weirdo ;p
    jodi is amazing!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

