Worst Possible Light

I was flipping through my over priced and over censored Marie Claire magazine yesterday when I started to read an article about an Irani girl who was jailed and beaten in Iran for wearing a mini skirt at her friends house and for mingling with the opposite gender.  At first I was angry then as I read the article, I realized that there was a small error.  They were talking about Athan and they said that Islamic prayer takes place three times a day, when in fact it takes place five times a day.

Although it may seem like a small error maybe from the journalists point of view, but to me it discredits the whole article.  First of all, Marie Claire is owned by Hearst Publishing, one of the biggest publishing houses in the US, and Islam has been in the news since 2003, if they did not learn anything about it, or dig deeper to learn a little bit more about the religion, they should go back to journalism school.  Also, at the begining of the article the girl states that she had a Quran in her bag, so if she was actually pious, how could she make an error, if it was her really narrating the story.  I mean from the minute any muslim person is born we know that prayers happen 5 times a day.

This entry is not really about that small error, I would like to know why they always show us in the worst possible light.  By “us” I do not only mean Arabs or Muslims, but on the contrary, everyone who is NOT American is shown in the worst possible way, or at least the culture they are brought up in. 

I understand that this is reality and I do not know what is going on in Iran and everything, but I am SURE that there are women there who are fighting for their rights, why do they not write about that ?  Yes, I know that people have to know the bad and the good about the world, but you know what, they write more about the bad than the good, especially about how women are treated in other parts of the world.  And as we all know, half the time, do not believe what is written in the press.  It is usually over hyped and complete and utter propaganda.

I would love it if they did an article of hard working women, who have worked hard to prove themselves and make a place for them in their fields.  Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Qatar, Oman, Bahrain are full of smart women who have shone through in their fields, why are they not covered in articles that are read around the world?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. danderma
    May 16, 2010 @ 09:32:28

    Honey i don’t think they made a mistake with the athan thing being 3 times in iran. In shi3i mazhab there are 5 prayers but 3 prayer times… the asor thohor differ by 5-10 minutes only and ma’3rib 3esha the same… thats why they sound the athan 3 times only

    and i agree… why do they dig up stories from the 3rd world that is always bad and demeaning? Why can’t they paint a better picture of our lives? I am sure we have our fair share of happy stories and intellects and women making it… would you read about those? Laaa lazim el nass el mo6ahadeen… why don’t they write about an abused and suppressed woman in Holland mathalan? or France? Don’t tell me there ain’t any!

    Btw which issue was that? June 2010?

    Reply

  2. Chirp
    May 18, 2010 @ 07:30:00

    9ij! Ma kent adri! Thanks for letting me know!

    I think May 2010, or maybe its June, I just bought it from the Magazine dude. It has Jessica Simpson on the cover.

    Ana agool why don’t they write about the Mexican ladies who crossed the border and are working in sweatshops in California making clothes for the huge american brands?? 🙂

    Reply

  3. Swair
    May 19, 2010 @ 19:41:50

    I was gonna say what Danderma said about the prayers lol

    Anyways, I loved your comment and my response is: Shfeeech, hal magazines need those sweatshop-owning brands for advertising.. Wela shlon ba3dain they get mucho moola? They can’t turn against their sponsors! ;p

    Reply

  4. intlxpatr
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 21:36:03

    Chirp, I think Marie Claire is a French based magazine. I know they have an American edition, and it may be owned by Hearst, but I still think it is mostly French in orientation.

    Reply

  5. inspirationsbysd
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 05:44:59

    As much as I love Marie Claire, I do agree with you. I love reading about women around the world, you do feel the same when you see women like you fighting for some rights they have been stripped from because of society, culture or traditions etc but I do recall once that they mentioned Kuwait being one of the countries where women cannot vote (back before we got our rights to vote!) and I was so hurt to see Kuwait finally mentioned in an international magazine but only to discuss our backwardness lol
    So when we finally got the right to vote…I wrote to them telling them about the issue where Kuwait was mentioned and that we can now vote since women got their rights! I thought it would be something worth mentioning in their magazine, but no one even bothered to respond to my letter.
    But I still read that magazine lol
    As for the articles they have in their magazines…they might hyperbolize the stories…but at least some of it is true…and I think people in the media usually take the exception and make a story out of it! Chnee I wrote a whole post in response to urs lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

